Final Fantasy VIII

If you have a problem with a particular game, post it in here.
Vanlen
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:14 am
Primary Device: Samsung galaxy S
ROM: Darky rom 9.2

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Vanlen » Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:52 am

Yes, that's it!
I have just tried ff7 and ff8 so I don't know if it's append with other game.

I have disabled the button 4, 5, 6 and 7 and the d-pad is now in the good place, but not the button. In landscape the button are top of the screen and in portrait there are top left of the black background.

If the game working for you, can you tell me your config?

Edit: and the game is slow when I'am in landscape.

I'm french, so if you want, we can speak in french ^^ Better for me :)

EDIT2: so I try "Fix autoalignement" in the "input" -> "touchsreen config" and now th button are in the good place and the d-pad is on the top left ^^ I have tryed the 7052 bios but the d-pad was very small :)

yeahhhhhhh i find the problem!!
I was thinking that the configuration of the pad was already good! But no! I just choose the right emplacement for each button, and now it's work!!!
I love this emulator! I can play FF8 now ^^ I love this game, just the best ff in the world ^^

Valarion
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 10:31 am
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Valarion » Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:18 pm

Ironmaw wrote:To fix the grey screen problem during cinematics, makes sure that when you start the game each time you play, you load first from a battery save, and only then load a save state.



I tried but my bug with the final form of Ultimecia came back (no sound, no cinematic)... Was it just luck when it worked? Or was the 0.10.16 supposed to fix this bug?

Edit: Problem finally solved.

Rising
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:45 pm
Primary Device: HTC Droid Incredible
ROM: Stock HTC Sense Android 2.2

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Rising » Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:02 am

I tried saving and used both slots. When I tried to load, both save files were "damaged" and couldn't load. Is there any fix for this or do I have to rely on save states?

gamesmaster
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:43 pm
Primary Device: Google Nexus One
Operating System: Windows 7
ROM: Cyanogenmod

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby gamesmaster » Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:53 pm

hi, i've got a fairly simple problem, (atleast i think its simple) I'm running a Nexus one and after labourous hours trying to get my FFVII rom to work, i finally got there.

The problem is when i touch the bottom left of the screen where the 'right' and 'up' buttons are specifically, whilst holding x to run, it opens up he FFVII menu/inventory screen. I've moved the D-pad to the top left to avoid that area of teh screen which is a compromise at the moment but if i touch the bottom left whilst touching the 'x' button, i get put into the FF 'menu' screen

Any ideas?

fuzz n ga
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:23 am
Primary Device: android

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby fuzz n ga » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:42 am

hello im having a issue with final fantasy VIII on disc 3 when your on the ragnarok and your sitting in the captains chair waiting to rinoa jump in the other seat but she just stands in the back not moving. anyone have any idea whats going, im using a droid x dont know any of the specs any help would be much appreciated

Hexx
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:41 am
Primary Device: galaxy s

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Hexx » Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:06 pm

Ironmaw wrote:To fix the grey screen problem during cinematics, makes sure that when you start the game each time you play, you load first from a battery save, and only then load a save state.


I have the grey screen problem, care to explain what loading from a battery save means exactly ? Thanks.

Edit : Oh i got it, loading from a regular ingame save ^^ Well thanks it works great :)

Edit 2: Well, me again.

Just to let you know, after the ragnarok freeze, no .ini tweaking could make the game work so i had to use epsxe and I had the same probleme again after beating ultimecia + griever. Btw, i'm using galaxy S so if someone could solve that problem i'd like to hear it, i'd love to play the whole game on the phone :)

pongies
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 7:33 am
Primary Device: xperia play
Operating System: gingerbread 2.3.3
ROM: PoNgIeS

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby pongies » Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:20 am

for me start the game, perform a battery load and then a save state load seem to fix every problem i have. is it just me or other as well?

my previous problem is grey screen cg and no audio at all.

im using SE Xperia Play gingerbread 2.3.3

mccar42
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:38 pm
Primary Device: Xperia Play Verizon CDMA
Operating System: Android 2.3.2
ROM: Stock

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby mccar42 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:35 pm

If any one has an issue with the game getting stuck in a freeze loop after the Lunar Cry FMV to counter this you mash buttons during and after the FMV. It might cause your hands to cramp up so keep a banana near by lol.

But all kidding aside this DID work for me.

And also this game plays FLAWLESSLY on my Xperia Play.

Almost finished and the sound is awesome, never thought I would hear such great sound from a phone.

All the FMV worked and only issue was at the end of 2/start of 3 my Rom was screwy and say some junk about wrong bytes/sector so I just found a different one and it worked (it used the in game memory card and it did transfer my game over without having to do anything).

I use the on screen R2/L2 so I can escape from battles and I play in Original resolution/screen size with the black bars on the sides (It makes the graphics look more like it did on a real PS and not as pixlated as stretch or zoom.

hope this helps (the top part)!

djnarcotics
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:40 pm
Primary Device: HTC EVO
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: Cyanogen 7

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby djnarcotics » Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:07 am

fuzz n ga wrote:hello im having a issue with final fantasy VIII on disc 3 when your on the ragnarok and your sitting in the captains chair waiting to rinoa jump in the other seat but she just stands in the back not moving. anyone have any idea whats going, im using a droid x dont know any of the specs any help would be much appreciated

same thing here .i saw a post earlier about some one getting past this part doing something but i couldnt understand a word of it lmao btw im on FPSE 0.10.57 and running it on a HTC EVO

also any help getting past this part would really be awesome seeing as getting control of this ship is the most critical part in this game

nitronic
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 10:09 am
Primary Device: Sony Ericsson Xperia Play
Operating System: Android

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby nitronic » Sat Aug 27, 2011 12:10 pm

Hello i am using the Sony Ericsson Xperia Play and have problems with a gray screen during cutscenes i am using FPse v0.10


Return to “Game-Specific Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest