Final Fantasy VIII

If you have a problem with a particular game, post it in here.
shawnno0
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:04 pm
Primary Device: Evo 3D
Operating System: Android
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby shawnno0 » Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:28 pm

First post but I've been reading this topic. Is there any way to get past the ragnorak scene in disc 3 without having to root my phone? If not is there a way to root my EVO 3d without having to delete everything? I haven't had any other problems with the game besides grey fmv cutscenes but its not a problem.

funktron
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:53 am
Primary Device: Samsung Epic 4G
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: CM9 RC1

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby funktron » Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:31 am

shawnno0 wrote:First post but I've been reading this topic. Is there any way to get past the ragnorak scene in disc 3 without having to root my phone? If not is there a way to root my EVO 3d without having to delete everything? I haven't had any other problems with the game besides grey fmv cutscenes but its not a problem.

You're having trouble with the game not starting a sequence with Squall and Rinoa, right? It just sits there and nothing more happens?

If you have Audio muted or altered from default settings, do this:
Quit, get back into your latest save before that point, then turn your audio on - do not have any of the items under Audio checked. Then save at the save point again, quit, start FPSE and load the game.

When you get back to that point, it should bring up the next sequence of events. This worked perfectly for me. I just turned down audio during that point (couldn't ever get the music to play properly on that game on my Epic 4G) and then after I got done with that scene and could save again - went back to my original setup and had no issues the rest of the way.

funktron
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:53 am
Primary Device: Samsung Epic 4G
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: CM9 RC1

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby funktron » Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:33 am

Oh, and gray FMV cutscenes also happened to me until I stopped using save states to get back into the game.

For me, if I started FPSE from scratch, then loaded a save game in FF VIII - I could then use my FPSE save states without the FMV stuff breaking.

To reiterate:

Try to start your games up from FF VIII memory-card based game saves instead of FPSE Save States. You CAN use save states, just need to have the game loaded from a FF VIII memory-card save first.

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby bluezeak » Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:46 am

Issue with the OpenGL and fight scene slowness - I tested playing FF VIII on my laptop with ePSe. My laptop is nice, but has a stock / poor video card.

Using Pete's Peops OpenGL, I had the same issue that I see on my phone with fight scenes starting slow. I couldn't use Pete's standard OpenGL - plugin crashed (I suspect a driver / windows 7 64-bit issue). So - I suspect the issue is something with the game itself hating OpenGL. Maybe an update to the emulator can fix it - but I suspect it's the GPU plugin.

If I use the Petes Direct Draw plugin though, the game works great. It's AMAZING how much better the game looks with hardware acceleration, especially when playing on high resolution. But, even on the phones screen it's a huge difference.

I don't really know the difference between direct draw and OpenGL. I think Direct Draw is more of a Microsoft specific thing, while OpenGL is ... not. More of an industry standard? Anyway, I don't know if it's possible, but if FPSE could use a direct draw plugin then it might be feasible to play FF VIII with acceleration - which would be awesome. The game still looks good without it - but it looks so much better with it that it's sad, knowing how much better it could be.
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

Treize
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:25 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 (SGH-i727R)
Operating System: Android 4.04 (ICS)
ROM: Cyanogenmod 9

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Treize » Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:52 pm

Howdy,

Kudos to the dev for the work put into this emulator.

I'm trying to play this on my Samsung Galaxy S2 (SGH-i727R) which has the Adreno 220. My current settings are:

Spusync
Framskip
Print FPS
Original Screen Size
OffScreenDrawing
Special Frame Limiter
OpenGl downloaded from internet

My only 2 issues so far are the slow battle phases, and the following:

totriet wrote:hi! When I put the original size, Instead of having two black stripes on the sides, I have two bug stripes. Something know how I can solve it?

Image


It seems that everyone has the slow battle phase issue with opengl, but can someone tell me which settings i need to make the edges of the screen black? Is this a game specific thing (I don't currently have other games to try) or a phone thing (I know Adreno 220 has some opengl issues)?

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby bluezeak » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:45 am

Are you using the latest version of FPSE? I'm pretty sure there were fixes for that. Also are you using the latest version off OpenGL? Use the one that you can download from inside FPSE. If so, maybe is an issue specific to your ROM?

There's a thread about the 220 and 225 check that thread. The 220 needs ics and/or ICS.
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

totriet
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:39 am
Primary Device: HTC Desire Z
ROM: Cyanogenmod 7 Nightly

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby totriet » Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:37 am

I use the latest version and I download the open gl plugin with the option inclued in Fpse

Treize
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:25 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 (SGH-i727R)
Operating System: Android 4.04 (ICS)
ROM: Cyanogenmod 9

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Treize » Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:52 am

bluezeak wrote:Are you using the latest version of FPSE? I'm pretty sure there were fixes for that. Also are you using the latest version off OpenGL? Use the one that you can download from inside FPSE. If so, maybe is an issue specific to your ROM?

There's a thread about the 220 and 225 check that thread. The 220 needs ics and/or ICS.


Thanks for the reply. I am on ics and using the latest fpse and open gl plugin. I played around with the settings and found when turning 32 bit rendering on it fixed the edges of the screen. The phasing into battles still takes very long.

Eambo
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:18 am
Primary Device: HTC One-X
Operating System: Android (ICS)
ROM: Viper ROM

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Eambo » Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:21 am

Hi Everyone,

I'm trying to get FFVIII to work, but no luck for me! I can load the game, but there is no audio during FMV's. I've read numerous reports of turning on SPUSync working for people, but alas not me.

I'm running a HTC One X with ICS - can anyone advise what I may be doing wrong? Thank you! :-)

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby bluezeak » Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:57 am

Treize wrote:
Thanks for the reply. I am on ics and using the latest fpse and open gl plugin. I played around with the settings and found when turning 32 bit rendering on it fixed the edges of the screen. The phasing into battles still takes very long.

That's great to know, I'll include it in my opwnl spreadsheet.

Eambo - do you get audio in other games? Are you using OpenGL or softgpu? If softgpu do you have frame skip?
FPSE OpenGL info - click here


Return to “Game-Specific Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest