Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

ram
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:59 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Operating System: Android

Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby ram » Sat Sep 08, 2012 9:07 pm

So I played Final Fantasy 8 for quite a while with an older version of FPSe, and decided to update to 0.11.38 because of the audio fix. Everything actually worked fine - FPS never got below 60 and audio was playing amazing - but every few minutes, no matter what I do in the game (menu, battle, dialogue, etc) - the screen freezes while the game continues to work.

I noticed on the Google Play comments that someone else was having the same problem using the same device (Tab 2) on a different game, can it be a bug in the software or something that can be resolved by doing something in the settings?

Any help is appreciated. thanks!

ram
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:59 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Operating System: Android

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby ram » Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:29 am

i900frenchaddict wrote:Sounds like memory problem...Maybe Schtruck could say more.


Thanks for the reply. Is there any way to pass this bug on to him somehow? I would love a fixso I can finally finish FF8 ;).

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 1946
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby schtruck » Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:36 am

try to force monocore from system menu and tell me it's that happen after.

cartman-2000
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:05 am
Primary Device: Motorola DROID razr
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: Cyanogen mod 9

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby cartman-2000 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:33 pm

It's not just your tab that does it, I have the renderer freezing problem on my phone too, I'm using the software renderer as the open gl one can be quite slow in some areas. It also has that freezing problem in pretty much all of the FF games I've tried playing on it, most of the time it'll freeze if there's dialog boxes popping up, or in the menus.

Haven't tried running it in mono core yet, I'll try to see if that makes any difference.

[edit]
It doesn't freeze with force mono core on. One thing I've noticed is that when that force mono core option is off and hardware acceleration is on, texture filtering in the software renderer is always enabled, even if you don't have the option set in the video settings, and it can't be turned off. So I'm not sure if it's a problem with texture filtering in multi-core and hardware acceleration.
[/edit]
Last edited by cartman-2000 on Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rakieta1992
Fresh Fish
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:25 am
Primary Device: samsung galaxy s 2
Operating System: android ics

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby rakieta1992 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:12 pm

I have exactly the same problem on my galaxy s II so I'd like to know the solution too ;)

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 600
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby bluezeak » Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:47 am

cartman-2000 wrote:...
It doesn't freeze with force mono core on.
...

This is the answer, for now.

Also, Schtruck has said in the main feedback thread that if there are background processes going on when you are not using 'forced monocore' it can cause problems. He recommended that you kill unneeded processes, but he also said you may just need to use monocore.
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

cartman-2000
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:05 am
Primary Device: Motorola DROID razr
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: Cyanogen mod 9

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby cartman-2000 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:14 am

Also it doesn't seem to freeze if you turn hardware acceleration off, but leave the other two on.

rakieta1992
Fresh Fish
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:25 am
Primary Device: samsung galaxy s 2
Operating System: android ics

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby rakieta1992 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:03 pm

As Cartman-2000 stated, if I turn "force monocore" on, random freezing doesn't happen, but fps won't go over 60...

ram
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:59 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Operating System: Android

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby ram » Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:19 pm

schtruck wrote:try to force monocore from system menu and tell me it's that happen after.


Seems to be working, but makes the game work real slow. Hope there is a permanent solution coming soon.

cartman-2000
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:05 am
Primary Device: Motorola DROID razr
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: Cyanogen mod 9

Re: Random freezes in Tab 2 10.1"

Postby cartman-2000 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:48 pm

Try running with texture filtering off(It has a huge hit on the cpu.) and in software render if you weren't in that before, I can get a solid 60fps in most areas with it in mono core.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest