gameslist ini/patch??

Old threads
User avatar
fishwiz
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:24 am
Primary Device: T-Mo HD2
Operating System: wm 6.5 sense 2.5
ROM: TMOUSA Stock ROM
Location: cleveland, ohio. united states

gameslist ini/patch??

Postby fishwiz » Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:03 am

i have been investigating why fps have not increased for me since 9.6 to .10... even when my processor went from 200mhz to a new touch pro 2 with over 500mhz...

the pdf that schtuck packaged with the fpsece cab explains some important info. here is the part i'm talking about...

5.4.2. gamelist.ini.
This new file is use to Store specific Patch/Speed up for specific Game, here is
how it works:
In general, each game have a Specific Number into system.cnf file onto CD.
FpseCE read this number and look into this file if there is a section with the name
Number.
For example Tekken3 PAL version is SCES_012.37, so in gamelist.ini you will
have that:
[SCES_012.37]
License=SCES_012.37
Name=Tekken3
Notes=
Status=2
Status_HLE=2
Flag0=7
Patch=48
First , if your game need to be included, load it first into FpseCE, then quit
FpseCE and look into file fpse.txt into the root directory of your PocketPC.
You will find exe_name=XXXX the famous Specific Number.
What I will only explain is the Patch line. The value represent a SUM of type of
patch, each type of patch has a specific number like below:
spu_hack_enabled=1 ; Destructive and Fast hack for game like MGS
odd_even_fix=2 ; Specific GFX patch for Chrono Cross
busy_fix=4 ; Specific GFX Patch for some games
lazy_fix=8 ; Specific GFX Patch for some games
high_res_boost=16 ; Patch to speedup emulation on high res games
frame_skip_mode=32 ; Destructive Frameskip which speedup games
In our case Tekken has Patch=48 which mean it is patched with high_res_boost
and frame_skip_mode (16+32=48).

ok... so... i looked at my tekken 3 in my gameslist cfg folder that was saved after i loaded it into fpse.
it did not have the high res boost or frame skip values added to it. they were at zero???
sooo... i added them manually and saved. still no increase in speed. by the way i get 12 to 14 fps on tekken 3. then... i found the attached gameslist ini it had several games in it including tekken 3. there in the last line is the word patch with no number after the = sign. so i manually added the value 48 and saved. to my surprise when i loaded tekken 3 back into fpse my fps went from 12-14 to 14-20fps!!!! finally some improvement in speed!!! so my question is....aren't these patch values supposed to be automatically added or detected when the specific games that need them are loaded into fpse?? or are they and my device is just not cooperating and this is a bug just on the touch pro 2??? anyways Schtruck? tgwaste, mastanobu??? maybe you can help me with my findings as two of you have my same device and the other is the mastermind behind this all!!! haha!!!

Chaosstorm
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:53 am

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby Chaosstorm » Mon Dec 28, 2009 12:41 pm

Hmm.. kinda odd since on my xperia every file just has 0, 0, 0, 0 at every fix ( same as you have )

Code: Select all

[SCES_012.37]
License=SCES_012.37
Name=Tekken3
Notes=
Status=2
Status_HLE=2
Flag0=7
Patch=48


When i look at the file thats generated when starting a game i never see that ( with that i mean that code up of this text) only the standard config of fpsece.txt
and every game is running really slow :P

User avatar
fishwiz
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:24 am
Primary Device: T-Mo HD2
Operating System: wm 6.5 sense 2.5
ROM: TMOUSA Stock ROM
Location: cleveland, ohio. united states

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby fishwiz » Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:40 pm

Yes, i know. all of my games were showing values of=0 also. the only way i got tekken3's patch values was through schtucks example in the pdf that came with the free .cab of fpse. i happened to have that game already, so i manually added the values and saved them and poof! another 5 fps!

i think something may be broke and we are not seeing the full speed of fpse because the special speed hacks and patches are not being applied to our games. SCHTRUCK HELP PLEASE!

tgwaste
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby tgwaste » Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:59 pm

i dont have any fpsece.txt file in my root dir. only fpsecelog.txt and that doesnt say much.
-tgwaste

User avatar
i900frenchaddict
Global Moderator
Posts: 1355
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:47 am
Primary Device: Galaxy Note 4
Location: France
Contact:

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby i900frenchaddict » Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm

Only a very few games use Patch=XX

Here are a few that may worth a try for "medium or low range devices"
It's in the gamelist .ini (verify the license number correspond to your game, you can see it in the fpselog.txt, at the root of your device internal memory, =>exename=SCES_xxxxxxxx)
[SCES_012.37]
License=SCES_012.37
Name=Tekken3
Notes=
Status=2
Status_HLE=2
Flags0=7
Patch=48

[SLPS_018.42]
License=SLPS_018.42
Name=Bloody Roar 2
Notes=
Status=2
Status_HLE=2
Flags0=7
Patch=48

[SLES_019.430]
License=SLES_019.43
Name=Radical Biker
Notes=
Status=2
Status_HLE=2
Flags0=7


Or for tekken 3 and bloody roar2, in the congig file of each game (or in the fpse.ini, but it's better to change the config for each game individually!)
High_Res_Boot_Fix=1
Frame_Skip_Mode=1


NOTE: you may loose the possibility to see the overlays for tekken3 and bloody roar 2 using these fixes

User avatar
fishwiz
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:24 am
Primary Device: T-Mo HD2
Operating System: wm 6.5 sense 2.5
ROM: TMOUSA Stock ROM
Location: cleveland, ohio. united states

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby fishwiz » Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:48 pm

Ok so these fixes only apply to a small percentage of games i take it? the values i modified to get results with tekken were in storagecard/program files/fpsece folder...Try there tgwaste.

and thanks frenchy, i'm going to try some of these fixes on dead or alive!

San4er
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 11:25 pm

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby San4er » Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:51 pm

in FAQ.pdf it is spu_hack_enabled=1
but in .ini files i don`t see it
should i write it manually or it wasnt included to programme?

tgwaste wrote:i dont have any fpsece.txt file in my root dir. only fpsecelog.txt and that doesnt say much.

i also don`t have it

User avatar
fishwiz
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:24 am
Primary Device: T-Mo HD2
Operating System: wm 6.5 sense 2.5
ROM: TMOUSA Stock ROM
Location: cleveland, ohio. united states

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby fishwiz » Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:43 am

I900frenchaddict!! you rock! thank you so much for those last 2 ini hacks! tekken 3 runs at 18-22 with frameskip set to 1! much faster and playable now! more fps are possible by increasing the frameskip number but beyond 1 gives choppy slideshow effect. but i'm much better off now than the 12-14 fps i was stuck with for so long!

User avatar
fishwiz
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:24 am
Primary Device: T-Mo HD2
Operating System: wm 6.5 sense 2.5
ROM: TMOUSA Stock ROM
Location: cleveland, ohio. united states

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby fishwiz » Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:49 am

San4er wrote:in FAQ.pdf it is spu_hack_enabled=1
but in .ini files i don`t see it
should i write it manually or it wasnt included to programme?

tgwaste wrote:i dont have any fpsece.txt file in my root dir. only fpsecelog.txt and that doesnt say much.

i also don`t have it


Just so you guys know i'm not editing an .ini found in the root of my device... i installed to my storage card and am modifying the ini's inside the main fpsece folder in program files. give it a try and experiment with the couple of hacks above and post back with any good results!

User avatar
mastanobu
Addict
Posts: 369
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:14 am
Primary Device: Touch Pro 2 (Tilt 2)
Operating System: build 21887 6.5
ROM: Josh's PerfectBlack 1.7-FINAL
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: gameslist ini/patch??

Postby mastanobu » Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:56 am

i900frenchaddict wrote:
Or for tekken 3 and bloody roar2, in the congig file of each game (or in the fpse.ini, but it's better to change the config for each game individually!)
High_Res_Boot_Fix=1
Frame_Skip_Mode=1



What exactly does "High_Res_Boot_Fix=1" do? I assume something to do with High Resolution, so does that mean not all games run at the same resolution?
Find me at http://www.totalgamerz.com - Ryo
XDA - ryotgz


Return to “Archives”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest