Final Fantasy VII

If you have a problem with a particular game, post it in here.
rand4ll
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:09 am
Primary Device: Asus Transformer Prime
Operating System: Android
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby rand4ll » Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:32 am

neiljwd wrote:Well It turns out, changing a setting and backing into the game doesn't change it.
You have to change it, back into the game, and then RESTART fpse for SOME to take effect.

Anyway I found settings that work on the latest release of fpse with FFVII.iso.

AUDIO:
Spusync -ON
Other two off.

Video:
Adjust Frambuffer Access - ON
Special Upload Detection - ON
OffScreen Drawing - ON
32 Bits rendering -ON (I had to turn this un without an .iso loaded, wouldn't 'stick' in game.)
Everything else off.

Additionally Framelimiter ON, slows the game down, Frameskip ON Speeds it up markedly. :)

This makes the game 100% playable, and cut scenes viewable.

Niggles:
Select hand is a black shadow. No hand on start up screen. There's often some flashy texture pop-in in some areas. Areas Backgrounds have black borders (think this is unchangeable if you have OpenGL plugin). NOT FMV's, but cut scenes that are part background, part movement, part render engine, get thin black lines down it, but viewable.

Anyway, if anyone wants to take these settings and further test for improvements, be my guest and please report back if you find any, ta!


I was working on getting the messed up menus fixed before I even found your post on here. However, if you are still around and still looking, I got the game playing damn near perfect with battle menu and white hand. I do not get any swirl into the battle and can't figure that part out, my settings are as follows:

[u]AUDIO:[/u]
Spusync -ON
Other two off.

Video:
Framelimiter - ON
Original Screen Size - ON (not needed, but i like the look of it in original 4:3)
OffScreenDrawing - ON
Alpha Multipass - ON (I think this one adds the white hand)
Anti Aliasing - ON (not necessary but should make it look better if your system can handle it)
Everything else off.

As stated, with these setting and OpenGL plugin on latest market version i get white hand and battle menu and the game pretty much always stays pegged at 60fps and even all cut screens work great. I do get some music lag at start of battle but it is minor. The things I would like to fix is i get a tiny bit of artifacting here and there on screen (colored very thin lines) but that is a minor niggle and doesn't really bother me. Would also like to be able to get the starting battle animation, but again, not important for gameplay.

I do ask for some of your help though too, is there somewhere that defines what all these options are? For instance, I had the 32Bits Rendering on when trying to find out how to get it to work, and once i got everything working right, i went through unselecting boxes and restarting after every change to be sure it takes effect, and I found that 32Bits rendering didn't do anything at all for me...Also see you use Adjust Framebuffer Access and Special Upload Detection, I just tried adding these to my above settings and they didn't seem to do anything for me, any idea what they are supposed to do? Really what would be great is a nice listing of what every option does for the FPse OpenGL plugin on Android!!

Please let me know if I helped anyone out or if some of my above issues can be fixed by some of these other settings. I have been messing with it for over 4 hours now and am ready to give up for the time being (also played for about 2 hours with great looking graphics!!!) and get some rest.

maxysbak
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:19 am
Primary Device: galaxy s2

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby maxysbak » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:02 pm

rand4ll wrote:
neiljwd wrote:Well It turns out, changing a setting and backing into the game doesn't change it.
You have to change it, back into the game, and then RESTART fpse for SOME to take effect.

Anyway I found settings that work on the latest release of fpse with FFVII.iso.

AUDIO:
Spusync -ON
Other two off.

Video:
Adjust Frambuffer Access - ON
Special Upload Detection - ON
OffScreen Drawing - ON
32 Bits rendering -ON (I had to turn this un without an .iso loaded, wouldn't 'stick' in game.)
Everything else off.

Additionally Framelimiter ON, slows the game down, Frameskip ON Speeds it up markedly. :)

This makes the game 100% playable, and cut scenes viewable.

Niggles:
Select hand is a black shadow. No hand on start up screen. There's often some flashy texture pop-in in some areas. Areas Backgrounds have black borders (think this is unchangeable if you have OpenGL plugin). NOT FMV's, but cut scenes that are part background, part movement, part render engine, get thin black lines down it, but viewable.

Anyway, if anyone wants to take these settings and further test for improvements, be my guest and please report back if you find any, ta!


I was working on getting the messed up menus fixed before I even found your post on here. However, if you are still around and still looking, I got the game playing damn near perfect with battle menu and white hand. I do not get any swirl into the battle and can't figure that part out, my settings are as follows:

[u]AUDIO:[/u]
Spusync -ON
Other two off.

Video:
Framelimiter - ON
Original Screen Size - ON (not needed, but i like the look of it in original 4:3)
OffScreenDrawing - ON
Alpha Multipass - ON (I think this one adds the white hand)
Anti Aliasing - ON (not necessary but should make it look better if your system can handle it)
Everything else off.

As stated, with these setting and OpenGL plugin on latest market version i get white hand and battle menu and the game pretty much always stays pegged at 60fps and even all cut screens work great. I do get some music lag at start of battle but it is minor. The things I would like to fix is i get a tiny bit of artifacting here and there on screen (colored very thin lines) but that is a minor niggle and doesn't really bother me. Would also like to be able to get the starting battle animation, but again, not important for gameplay.

I do ask for some of your help though too, is there somewhere that defines what all these options are? For instance, I had the 32Bits Rendering on when trying to find out how to get it to work, and once i got everything working right, i went through unselecting boxes and restarting after every change to be sure it takes effect, and I found that 32Bits rendering didn't do anything at all for me...Also see you use Adjust Framebuffer Access and Special Upload Detection, I just tried adding these to my above settings and they didn't seem to do anything for me, any idea what they are supposed to do? Really what would be great is a nice listing of what every option does for the FPse OpenGL plugin on Android!!

Please let me know if I helped anyone out or if some of my above issues can be fixed by some of these other settings. I have been messing with it for over 4 hours now and am ready to give up for the time being (also played for about 2 hours with great looking graphics!!!) and get some rest.


Hi guys I'm here to report some feedback !

I have the Galaxy s2 and i have to do the mali400 trick to use Opengl plugin. It works pefectly for Resident evil but with FF7 when the battle start, the sound is going creepy and FPSE crash and goes back to the main menu to load an ISO.
I used neiljwd and rand4ll settings and I have the last version of FPSE.

If anyone can help me thank you

braun314
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:08 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy GT-P7510
Operating System: Android 3.1
ROM: Final Fantasy 7

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby braun314 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:15 pm

I just finished Disc 1 of FF7 on my FPse 0.11.17 emulator.

On Disc 2, the sound for the game is not working...
Can anyone tell me what settings must be turned on to make it work again?
The sound on disc 1 worked perfectly... the settings were as followed:
1. Audio Parameters: spusync (everything else off)
2. Video Parameters: Frame limiter, Original Screen Size and Enhanced 3D Imagery (everything else off)
3. System Parameters: Dual Core Boost. (everything else off)

For some reason, when i try to continue my game on disc 2 the sound doesn't work at all...

ANY AND ALL SUGGESTIONS ARE WELCOME. PLEASE HELP!! I've been on a FF7 kick and don't want to end my journey here!

Thanks in advance,
BK

Lamensis
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:07 pm
Primary Device: HTC Desire HD
Operating System: Android 2.3.5
ROM: LeeDroid HD v5.1.1
Location: Germany

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby Lamensis » Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:59 am

the usual ff7 disc has an .img and a .cue . As far as i remember the .cue is for Sound, Do you have this File?

braun314
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:08 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy GT-P7510
Operating System: Android 3.1
ROM: Final Fantasy 7

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby braun314 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:39 am

Looks like the problem fixed itself... I didn't do anything and the sound works again... strange.

Thanks anyways!

reqner
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 12:40 pm
Primary Device: HTC One X

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby reqner » Wed May 02, 2012 12:51 pm

Hey guys,

So i've downloaded FPse and the FFVII Roms which seem to load fine but I'm getting stuttered and choppy sound constantly. It's as if its in Stereo sound but im missing half of it.

Anyway I've read that a fix could be changing to 4:3 Centered in Settings>Video but I cant find anywhere to change the screensize under Settings. Can anyone help with this? Or even tell me how they fixed a similar sound problem..

Im on the HTC OneX

Cheers!

funktron
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:53 am
Primary Device: Samsung Epic 4G
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: CM9 RC1

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby funktron » Thu May 03, 2012 6:30 am

Howdy all!

First, like many, LOVE this program. It's beyond awesome to take my old game, shrink it down to my phone and play on the go. I've put 65 hours into this game the last couple of months, and nearly all of it came on breaks at work, in lines and in places where I needed to kill a few minutes.

Second, though, I'm now having some issues on Disc 3 of FFVII.

Specifically, and I've seen this elsewhere on this forum, some battle cutscenes are crashing the program. In the Battle Square special event, Proud Clod's knee laser attack will crash the game every time. I got lucky and beat him before it crashed. Figured - eh, glitch, whatever, not an issue now!

*!*!*!*!*!**! SPOILERS !*!*!*!*!*!*!

BUT... After getting into the Northern Crater Cave where the group splits apart, I ended up solo with Cloud and ran into a Master Tonberry. I fired up Knights of the Round, and after about the fourth or fifth knight - CRASH. Game freezes up, never comes back.

What's odd is that I ran into one with a full crew of characters, used KoR and no crash. But this one, crashes every single time. Different Tonberrys, same result.

No problem, just won't use KoR against the Tonberry, right?

Well, then I had Bahamut ZERO set as my sneak attack move - and it crashes right when the space laser hits the enemy. I was fighting a group of four slug-like things.

I am running a Galaxy S ONE (not the newer S2s), a Sprint Epic 4G.

I am on Android 4.0.4 (CM9 beta), and I haven't had any issues whatsoever aside from these points noted above.

I do not have Open GL going, it's all stock FPSe settings with a regular-old bios.

Are there some settings I can change here? Perhaps it has to do with camera angles? I will be attempting to fiddle with this stuff as I simply refuse to go the rest of the game minus KoR or avoiding summons.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks.

Sinius
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 9:12 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Note
Operating System: Android Gingerbread

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby Sinius » Wed May 09, 2012 9:25 pm

Hi guys,

I'm struggling with a really big problem for for me. Got Samsung Galaxy Note and until now I hadn't any issue.

I'm at second disc in the rocket launched from Rocket City. When I am in a shuttle, where Cid says a sentence or two, there is a fmv afterwards. And in few secs of that fmv it freezes and I can't get further.

Tried various bios files and iso rips (all my own!).

Thanks for ideas, why it fails at that certain point. Tried even freshly from the last point.

Luremaster
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 10:40 pm
Primary Device: ATRIX
Operating System: ANDROID

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby Luremaster » Mon May 28, 2012 10:44 pm

For sound problem, the solution is simply...this happen because of stereo sound, just go in fpse.ini file and set DisStereo=1, this solves the sound problem for all mobiles.

Sorry For Crappy Eng..

arussell87
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 8:07 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy Note

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby arussell87 » Fri Jun 01, 2012 8:13 pm

Hi all

I Purchased this app last night and cant seem to get final fantasy 7 working fully.

Firstly whenever I get to the boss with president shinra about an hour into the game everytime he does an attack called big bomber it kicks me to my home screen

I also get kicked to my home screen alot when I save using fpse and when I load the game goes all funny colours and sometimes crashes.

Also the music is very slow sometimes.

Also when I get to save points and try to say in game it says no memory left yet I have 3gb?

Im using a galaxy note latest model with standard settings on fpse.

Im new to emulating so any help is great and very much appreciated


Return to “Game-Specific Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests