Final Fantasy VII

If you have a problem with a particular game, post it in here.
rikimaru123
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:19 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy Ace

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby rikimaru123 » Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:45 pm

In which version does this game run better? I need a version that does not ask for the license. I am using Android.

User avatar
storm20200
Enthusiast
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:14 am
Primary Device: Nexus 7, Galaxy S II (UK)
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock JB, CyanogenMod 9.1

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby storm20200 » Thu Aug 23, 2012 1:01 am

Why would you want a version that doesn't ask for a license?
Ragnarok: i5 750 @ 3200MHz | Titan Fenrir | MSI P55-GD65 | 8GiB Vengence 1600MHz CAS 9 | 1GiB 6950 DirectCU II | 60GB Crucial M4 | Samsung F3 500GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Seasonic X-750 | X-Fi XtremeGamer | HAF932 | Win 7 Pro

Zujuju
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:36 pm
Primary Device: HP Touchpad
Operating System: Android

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby Zujuju » Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:22 am

Storm20200, you were correct. I have different regions of the disc so they weren't being recognized. I fixed the problem by obtaining an identical regional disc to the save data I had. Thanks a lot for working with me on this man. I appreciate it.

rikimaru123
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:19 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy Ace

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby rikimaru123 » Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:31 am

Because I dont have the license, it's that simple. C'mon, you all did not buy the app, be honest, help me a little.

User avatar
storm20200
Enthusiast
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:14 am
Primary Device: Nexus 7, Galaxy S II (UK)
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock JB, CyanogenMod 9.1

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby storm20200 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:34 am

I bought it, in fact I bought it without knowing what it was like, how buggy it was or even if it worked well. It is $3.95 so it isn't very expensive, it has constant development and a developer that works very hard on it. Surely that is worth supporting with such a little payment that you won't be forced to pay again? If you decide to pirate it then that is your prerogative but to have the cheek to ask for support with something you don't wish to support is ridiculous.
Ragnarok: i5 750 @ 3200MHz | Titan Fenrir | MSI P55-GD65 | 8GiB Vengence 1600MHz CAS 9 | 1GiB 6950 DirectCU II | 60GB Crucial M4 | Samsung F3 500GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Seasonic X-750 | X-Fi XtremeGamer | HAF932 | Win 7 Pro

rikimaru123
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:19 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy Ace

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby rikimaru123 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:27 pm

Meh, maybe you are right, but I have already found how to do it anyway.

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby bluezeak » Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:21 am

rikimaru123 wrote:In which version does this game run better? I need a version that does not ask for the license. I am using Android.

Buy FPSE, it's worth it. The dev works hard, continually, to imporve it. He seems to do it in spurts where he won't do anything for a couple months, thatn BAM - 5 updates. As demonstrated by his performance from June until now.
Anyway your qeustion doesn't make sense. Aside from the license question, what do you mean 'what version works best'? NTSC? PAL? specific way to rip the iso so it plays well? Bin, ISO, other? version of FPSE? For fpse - use the latest,seems to be pretty stable now. I ssupect schtruck will release another update or two over the next week, we'll see. 11.26 was good, 11.29 was better, though some mali gpu users had issues despite all the work schtruck did to make it better. 11.30-11.33 - bad (opengl and button issues). !1.34 - good.

Sounds like you got your answer though...

Seriously though, but the app. $4 for such a great app? worth it.
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby bluezeak » Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:50 am

FF7 OpenGL Review
(see my signature for a link to my main opengl post)

First, the settings I recommend:
    - offscreen drawing - required
    - alpha multipass - mostly required
    - advanced blending - optional
    - adjust framebuffer access - recommend on - see notes below.
    - mask bit - recommened off
    - 32-bits - recommended to use if having gfx issues (garbage / artifacts)
    - FF7 cursor fix (added in a later update)
    - Qualcomm fix - if you have a Qualcomm chipset

general opengl game info and testing criteria:
    - restart fpse after every change except frame limit / frame skip.
    - always load from mem card - save states often don't use options properly if you've changed them
    - initial "sony computer entertainment america presents' screen (I have NA ntsc version) - this screen was always 30 fps until the opening credits begin
    - opening credits - good test for shadows and foreground ~80 fps
    - choose mem card screen
    - screen to choose save game that shows character portraits ~62 fps
    - inside initial mako reactor, after setting bomb. walking around 75-105 fps
    - battles -
      - never shows battle swirl
      - sometimes it slows down to 12-20 fps for about 5 seconds. frameskip seemed to not help this
      - sometimes it loads battles almost immediately.
      - after pausing for the 'battle swirl' that it doesn't show, when it was drawing the actual battle fps were ~60
      - the hand icon which is used to select enemies that you will fight has a black box / shadow under / around it, fairly small
      - fps for actual fighting
        - general fighting was ~70-80
        - when killing something, if it just turned red and faded away fps drapped to ~50 till it was gone. if it blows up fps doesn't change

breakdown of opengl settings
    - frameskip & old framskip - usefulif using a setting that lowers fps, or if your device needs it. use with frame limiter. didn't test old frameskip.
    - frame limiter & special frame limiter - both seemed to work the same. both kep fps ~58-59.
    - original screen size - I tested this a little. I liked the picture better with the original size, but then it was too small :). Didn't notice any real fps difference, but I didn't test extensively.
    - adjust framebuffer access - made for FF7. I didn't see a difference :(. Supposed to help with battle transitions / swirls. I wonder if schtruck did something to just cut out the swirls all together as I never saw one. However - I have not been outside yet, and this may make a difference in the outer world. I'll try to update later.
    - special upload detection - didn't make a difference. can break things in some games (possibly, see my spreadsheet). recommend not to use.
    - offscreen drawing - needed for battle menus & likely other items
    - advanced blending - affects color brightness and lighting. specifcally, noticed it made the yellow floor much brighter in battle. also put a 'box' around the white letters in the initial credits. Fixed black shadow/box under hand icon in battles. Supposed to make colors more true to original. Caused FPS to drop 10-15%. As most of my fps were > 70 this was fine. Undecided if I want to use it, but I think I will.
    - alpha multipass - needed to show hand cursor, (most noticeably on the 'new game / load game' screen) and shadows, and other transparent objects. Specifically, makes shadows mostly transparent instead of huge blocky black boxes. May cause black lines around objects, haven't tested enough of game - I never saw any.
    - mask bit - showed additional gfx - specififcally blinking red lights on walkway in reactor. Most likely will show other gfx in rest of game. Dropped fps by 50% - requires way too much power.
    - 32-bits - breaks alpha multipass. I saw no difference, though I believe it's supposed to help with colors. I tested this in multiple combinations with the above items, but saw no real difference. It has been reported that for some people it can help fix issues with 'garbage' (or 'artifacts') on screen.
    - anti-aliasing - I saw no difference. Supposed to make gfx better (from my research, it recuces color to make better gfx, see my spreadsheet linked in main opengl post). drops fps 15-30% for me.
    - texture filtering - I saw no significant difference. On opening credits the white letters had a halo / box effect on them. Other parts of game may have been 'softer' possibly. The pc plugin has 6 options for this settings so I don't know how schtruck implemented it. I saw no significant difference. It did lower fps by ~5-10%.
    - frame texture - from the 11.14 update notes, and from some of pete's release notes, I thought this might fix the slow down on the initial opening screen. it didn't. It did fix the black shadow under the hand icon in the fight screen when choosing monsters to fight. but, it casues a 30-40% fps drop when hand is on screen. I don't know what else it may do. I'm keeping it off.
    - busy fix - noticed no difference.

FPSE OpenGL info - click here

Woozoor
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 3:59 am
Primary Device: Samsung galaxy s3
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby Woozoor » Tue Sep 04, 2012 4:07 am

Hello, i have a samsung galaxy s3, and i bought fpse earlier today, i tried to get ff7 to work but after i load it, i get this incredibly weird screen, called cd player or something. this is a screenshot of what it looks like, what on earth is causing this? :x
Attachments
2012-09-04 06.02.35.png
2012-09-04 06.02.35.png (260.43 KiB) Viewed 2288 times

User avatar
storm20200
Enthusiast
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:14 am
Primary Device: Nexus 7, Galaxy S II (UK)
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock JB, CyanogenMod 9.1

Re: Final Fantasy VII

Postby storm20200 » Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:14 am

That most likely means you have a bad copy of FFVII, the PS1 had a memory card manager and CDplayer that could be accessed by not putting a working disc in or by putting no disc in.
Ragnarok: i5 750 @ 3200MHz | Titan Fenrir | MSI P55-GD65 | 8GiB Vengence 1600MHz CAS 9 | 1GiB 6950 DirectCU II | 60GB Crucial M4 | Samsung F3 500GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Seasonic X-750 | X-Fi XtremeGamer | HAF932 | Win 7 Pro


Return to “Game-Specific Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest