Fpse for Android News

thefitz
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:20 pm
Primary Device: OnePlus One A0001
Operating System: Android 5.0.2/CM12
ROM: This is for Android OS ROMs, not game ROMs.

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby thefitz » Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:51 pm

rufufu wrote:What are you working on now, if I may ask ? Just curious !

Indeed - in a previous post you mentioned two features that are important that everyone has been waiting for. Was the sound fix one of them? What were/are they?

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 1944
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:47 pm

It s coming withing 10 days i think.

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 1944
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:24 am

ok i just pushed another version of FPse with improved sound plugin:

FPse 0.11.159:
- Fixed audio plugins random click in sound, it's much more clear now.
By default Latency is set to 200, you can change it to higher or to lower value
depending of your device.
Less Latency mean better rendering, higher is for low end devices.
Ideal Latency is less than 100ms

On lollipop, you can put very low latency because the resampler is much faster. 30 ms seconds on Nexus 9 is incredible good! tempo is perfect.

this new version of FPse has now perfect Video framerate, this mean instead of 60fps for NTSC it's now as on true PSone 59,29fps and 49,79fps for PAL.

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 1944
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:58 am

i'm preparing a new Beta version,

FPse 0.11.160
- Added Force resolution to OpenGL from MISC/video menu, 6 levels which will make FPse using less cpu usage , it's a question of Fillrate...
IF you choose a specific rendering resolution, FPse will switch on Force Landscape option from video menu.
- Global cleaning code with many small bug fixed.

Reducing resolution can be very good for framerate and many time you won't see any GFX regression, but much more FPS.
For example on a Note 4, you can reduce to 1920x1080, 1689x950, 1280x720,844x475, 640x360,320x180... (this last one is just for fun....)

Stay tunned guys!

As usually if you want to be beta tester, just contact me at schtruck@gmail.com

DragonDragon
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Primary Device: Exynos 5

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby DragonDragon » Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:27 pm

schtruck wrote:i'm preparing a new Beta version,

FPse 0.11.160
- Added Force resolution to OpenGL from MISC/video menu, 6 levels which will make FPse using less cpu usage , it's a question of Fillrate...
IF you choose a specific rendering resolution, FPse will switch on Force Landscape option from video menu.
- Global cleaning code with many small bug fixed.

Reducing resolution can be very good for framerate and many time you won't see any GFX regression, but much more FPS.
For example on a Note 4, you can reduce to 1920x1080, 1689x950, 1280x720,844x475, 640x360,320x180... (this last one is just for fun....)

Stay tunned guys!

As usually if you want to be beta tester, just contact me at schtruck@gmail.com

Can it still render at native resolution of screen if I have screen with higher resolution than 1920x1080 ?

thefitz
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:20 pm
Primary Device: OnePlus One A0001
Operating System: Android 5.0.2/CM12
ROM: This is for Android OS ROMs, not game ROMs.

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby thefitz » Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:56 pm

DragonDragon wrote:Can it still render at native resolution of screen if I have screen with higher resolution than 1920x1080 ?

I believe you can, that's why he said "reduce to 1920x1080".

Personally, I think if you can tell a difference of OpenGL rendering between 1080p and QHD on a phone screen, you're lying!

Q8-V08
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:21 am
Primary Device: Nexus 7 2013

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Q8-V08 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:09 pm

Can you add over rendering options too that'll center crop 16:12 to 16:9 for properly stretching 4:3 games to 16:9, you can do this in RetroArch if you set the custom ratio to 6x6.

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 1944
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:22 pm

X and Y ratio is already available from misc/video menu

About the new feature, you have from misc menu and video sub menu a new option menu named 'reduce resolution'

by default it's off, but FPse propose 6 new resolutions depending of the device. i assure you that on my qhd note 4, i cannot see any diff when i set resol at 1280x720 and even 844x475, still very sharp.

Btw you'll see it quickly, i will release beta in about 2 hours.

nordikwolf
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:47 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 LTE 4G
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock 4.4.2 KitKat

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby nordikwolf » Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:57 pm

Very nice. And if you guys want the ultimate experience, I recommend buying these things:
http://www.dx.com/p/ipega-pg-9025-multi ... ack-256612
http://www.dx.com/p/sm-15-universal-108 ... 0cm-306795

Not doing any merchandising here, but, my items arrived here in Brazil and I got to say: I'm playing Tomb Raider and Resident Evil 2 with FPse (openGL) in fullHD in my 42" TV and it's just superb!! 100x better than in the PSone age! And its very smooth with an incredible image's quality!

My cellphone is now a portable console.

Q8-V08
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:21 am
Primary Device: Nexus 7 2013

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Q8-V08 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:24 pm

schtruck wrote:X and Y ratio is already available from misc/video menu

About the new feature, you have from misc menu and video sub menu a new option menu named 'reduce resolution'

by default it's off, but FPse propose 6 new resolutions depending of the device. i assure you that on my qhd note 4, i cannot see any diff when i set resol at 1280x720 and even 844x475, still very sharp.

Btw you'll see it quickly, i will release beta in about 2 hours.


That option is for software rendering only though not OpenGL.


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron