Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

sebastian9
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:41 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Note
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: N7000XXLRG
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby sebastian9 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:15 am

I have a question or request, rather, could be the filter screen a little less, it is way too blurry.
or just seems to me?
50% filter would be better

Image

gg141717
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 3:35 pm
Primary Device: Sony Xperia Z2
ROM: Stock

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby gg141717 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:55 am

LouCipher wrote:Hadn't heard any mention of the squaresoft slowdown bug in quite a while, so I thought I'd broach the subject again. In many squaresoft rpgs, notably the final fantasy games, there is a major performance hit associated with the menu overlays. This can easily be seen in FF9. Just enter a battle, watch your framerates, and when the menus show up, hold square to hide them. You'll see that the menus cause the framerate to drop 30 to 50 percent. Has there been any progress on this issue?


Mentioned it many times before, no response what so ever. I dont think it is going to be fixed any time soon. It sucks because final fantasy series are the only games i play on my phone.

Fuego
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 11:10 pm
Primary Device: Xperia Play 4G (on T-Mobile)
Operating System: Android 2.3.3
ROM: Stock

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Fuego » Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:10 am

I wonder if the Square slow down bug is phone dependent. I am playing through FF7 on my G2 (stock) and haven't seen that bug. I enter a battle and hold down square. The menu disappears (but the stats still display) and the FPS stays at a constant 60 fps, no slowdown or even dip in performance.

LouCipher
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:41 am
Primary Device: TMobile G2
ROM: CM7 RC1

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby LouCipher » Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:52 pm

Fuego wrote:I wonder if the Square slow down bug is phone dependent. I am playing through FF7 on my G2 (stock) and haven't seen that bug. I enter a battle and hold down square. The menu disappears (but the stats still display) and the FPS stays at a constant 60 fps, no slowdown or even dip in performance.


fpse's performance has improved to the point that the problem only really manifests when screen filtering is on with reasonably fast devices (I have a G2 as well). But when filtering is on, it is EXTREMELY bad. Framerates without menus are a solid 60 fps, when menus are present, I get 30 fps. Not sure how schtruck is applying AA, but even if he could just add a tweak to not filter square's menu overlays, it would be an enormous improvement.

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:45 pm

it's not a problem of Filter, but a Texture Windows massive use, to emulated that, we need much CPU, that's why it slowdown on low devices.

We are working on the next version , this problem has still not be fixed.

LouCipher
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:41 am
Primary Device: TMobile G2
ROM: CM7 RC1

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby LouCipher » Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:36 pm

schtruck wrote:it's not a problem of Filter, but a Texture Windows massive use, to emulated that, we need much CPU, that's why it slowdown on low devices.

We are working on the next version , this problem has still not be fixed.


Ah, that's right, forgot about that. How about when opengl is implemented? As I recall, Pete sped this up with his gpu plugins back in the day by implementing texture windows via pixel shaders. Once you have ogl running, could you write a pixel shader routine to handle texture windows in the gpu to improve performance? Is this something you've considered?

sebastian9
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:41 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Note
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: N7000XXLRG
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby sebastian9 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:52 pm

schtruck wrote:it's not a problem of Filter, but a Texture Windows massive use, to emulated that, we need much CPU, that's why it slowdown on low devices.

We are working on the next version , this problem has still not be fixed.




I meant it is too blurred, running windows is more pleasing to the eye
the desaseleracien not so bad in some games

jusama14
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 8:49 pm
Primary Device: galaxy nexus

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby jusama14 » Sat Jul 30, 2011 1:15 am

schtruck wrote:it's not a problem of Filter, but a Texture Windows massive use, to emulated that, we need much CPU, that's why it slowdown on low devices.

We are working on the next version , this problem has still not be fixed.


Schtruck, any updates on the (hopefully minor/easy to fix) bug I reported? Although it's working fine for me now, I feel it could be useful for other people and of course provide an overall cleaner and bug-free emulator.

suavethekid
Enthusiast
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:31 am
Primary Device: Galaxy note 2, Motorola Xoom
ROM: Blazer rom, Tiamat

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby suavethekid » Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:00 pm

If disk skip doesnt get fixed on next update im going to be sad :(

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:45 pm

Here is a list of fixes and new features for next version of FPse,

Done:
- Fixed a bug into CDROM emulation, Megaman Legend 2 works well now.
- Cheat menu enhanced with 10 cheats lines, Frequency per second to apply cheats, Button to activate or Unset Cheats and seek code beginning by 0xDxxxxxx
- Fixed a bug which make FPse much more stable when going into menus and returning to emulation, this bugs was more visible on faster devices on which FPse crashed just after loading ISO or BIOS file or just Restarting.
- Fixed Disc swap problem for games like Legend of dragoon and all others on which it didn't worked.
- Fixed Mdec emulation, which is much more accurate now.

Working on:
- Fix for game Skull monkeys and somes other games.
- Verifying and adding somes others languages posted into specific threads! thanks.
- Adding a factor of zoom for onscreen buttons, from 50% to 150%.


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron