View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 7:16 pm




Reply to topic  [ 6362 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 331, 332, 333, 334, 335, 336, 337 ... 637  Next
 Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback 
Author Message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Posts: 2093
Location: PARIS
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
No random crash for me on iss pro. you have set spusync?


Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:18 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:22 am
Posts: 8
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Note
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
Hi Schtruck thanks for the hardwork. Hope you can solve the issues with force closings when going into battles in FF7 (the very first battle may work but not so for subsequent battles). I'm running Galaxy Note and OpenGL. Another thing is it possible to change screen resolutions when in software mode, especially 1200 X 800? Thanks!


Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:23 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:27 am
Posts: 10
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
Hey guys, Schtruck, LDChen,

I'm struggling with slight fps problems on my device (in software render mode). I have a Desire Z (aka G2) overclocked to 1,6GHz.

When playing games without frameskip i notice lower fps around the 40s to 50s. No problem... my device isnt the fastest.
But here comes my problem that i dont quite understand:

When activating frameskip (and setting frameskip level up to 50fps) while NOT activating framelimiter i get superb fps between 50-70 fps (with pal games). It's really fast, including sound - only its a little to fast. So this is where framelimiter comes into play.

When activating frameskip AND framelimiter my fps gets stuck at 50fps. BUT i notice considerable frame drops, even though the built in fpse "frameprinter" shows a constant 50fps. Sound doesnt stutter either. But gameplay itself keeps stuttering and makes playing unenjoyable. It can somewhat be describes as: fluid 50fps --> short stutter --> slowly stabilizing --> 50fps --> repeat

It seems as if Frameskip in combination with framelimiter somehow produces performance issues.

Is it just my settings or my slow device? Or can it really possibly be a frameskip/framelimiter issue? Or something entirely different?

I can also say that the older versions of fpse (before the core update when savegame compatibility was lost from older versions and opengl update), that frameskip in combination with framelimiter worked flawlessly and i was able to play every single game in full and mostly enjoyable speeds.

Does anybody else have similar problems? Can anybody else reproduce this problem?

Thanks!


Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:31 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:17 am
Posts: 7
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab
Operating System: ICS
ROM: CM9
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
Dragoth wrote:
Hey guys, Schtruck, LDChen,

I'm struggling with slight fps problems on my device (in software render mode). I have a Desire Z (aka G2) overclocked to 1,6GHz.

When playing games without frameskip i notice lower fps around the 40s to 50s. No problem... my device isnt the fastest.
But here comes my problem that i dont quite understand:

When activating frameskip (and setting frameskip level up to 50fps) while NOT activating framelimiter i get superb fps between 50-70 fps (with pal games). It's really fast, including sound - only its a little to fast. So this is where framelimiter comes into play.

When activating frameskip AND framelimiter my fps gets stuck at 50fps. BUT i notice considerable frame drops, even though the built in fpse "frameprinter" shows a constant 50fps. Sound doesnt stutter either. But gameplay itself keeps stuttering and makes playing unenjoyable. It can somewhat be describes as: fluid 50fps --> short stutter --> slowly stabilizing --> 50fps --> repeat

It seems as if Frameskip in combination with framelimiter somehow produces performance issues.

Is it just my settings or my slow device? Or can it really possibly be a frameskip/framelimiter issue? Or something entirely different?

I can also say that the older versions of fpse (before the core update when savegame compatibility was lost from older versions and opengl update), that frameskip in combination with framelimiter worked flawlessly and i was able to play every single game in full and mostly enjoyable speeds.

Does anybody else have similar problems? Can anybody else reproduce this problem?

Thanks!


I'm seeing this also. I don't think our devices are too slow since the fps is fine without framelimiting on.


Thu Feb 16, 2012 1:00 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:26 pm
Posts: 8
Primary Device: HP Touchpad
ROM: Cyanogen 9 0.6
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
schtruck wrote:
No random crash for me on iss pro. you have set spusync?


I'll try again tonight.

Weird that this one works and the most recent doesn't. I made many tests on Pro Evo 2 bacause it is the latest and I had a crash on ISS Pro, so I supposed it was the same.


Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:51 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Posts: 2093
Location: PARIS
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
I saw somes people are complaining about crash but they haven t updated their opengl plugin, if someone can let comment on android market and inform them they need to download new plugin...

I will update fpse to avoid this crash and will add a new option for opengl plugin which will fix the codec bug on metalgear solid, like that mgs will be fully playable.


Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:53 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:26 pm
Posts: 8
Primary Device: HP Touchpad
ROM: Cyanogen 9 0.6
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
schtruck wrote:
I saw somes people are complaining about crash but they haven t updated their opengl plugin, if someone can let comment on android market and inform them they need to download new plugin...

I will update fpse to avoid this crash and will add a new option for opengl plugin which will fix the codec bug on metalgear solid, like that mgs will be fully playable.

I have to admit that I had to go to this forum to know that I had to update my plugin... And I have not found easily the file :
on ICS, I couldn't see the description of the application where the link of the file was. So I had no way to find the location of the file.

Maybe you should put a little function to get the last opengl plugin available.


Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:03 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:04 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Poland
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Note
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: KingDroid ICS NoteMania v7.0
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
I've noticed the same problem like Dragoth, any solution ?
I try to use cooltool and results was strange, fpse uses 1 core of cpu and I'm noticed fps drops (during fps drops cpu slow down from 1400 to 800 and fps 55 to 30) that's normal ?
Schtruck is possible to improve framelimiter and CPU utilisation ?


Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:32 pm
Profile
Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:50 am
Posts: 124
Primary Device: Sprint SG3 (Adreno 225)
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: FreeGS3 v0.1.0
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
schtruck wrote:
I saw somes people are complaining about crash but they haven t updated their opengl plugin, if someone can let comment on android market and inform them they need to download new plugin...

I will update fpse to avoid this crash and will add a new option for opengl plugin which will fix the codec bug on metalgear solid, like that mgs will be fully playable.


Schtruck, is it possible to have the app detect if it crashed previously and give you an option to reset to defaults on launch? It took me a while before I figured out that I could go into app remove and than clear data which will do the same thing but other will not know this and the only way for them to clear than will be to uninstall and reinstall which than loses their game data making a bad experience for them. One I figured out clear data worked for me I could get back into the emulator to change settings.


Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:54 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Posts: 2093
Location: PARIS
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Post Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback
i will updates within 3 hours FPse to avoid this crash if you load old OpenGL plugin.


Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:22 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6362 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 331, 332, 333, 334, 335, 336, 337 ... 637  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.