View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:01 pm




Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 Valkyrie Profile 
Author Message
Fresh Fish

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:14 pm
Posts: 1
Primary Device: motorola droid
Operating System: android
Post Re: Valkyrie Profile
@ inedesomhlp
Quote:
from another forum:
"for me: Do not use asynchronous SPU.

Long explanation of (what I think) is the problem that causes the freeze:

As you may have noticed, the freeze only happens during those spoken monologues (or scenes alike to those). The programmers used a smart way of determining when to progress to the next scene: They waited for the sound file of the spoken lines to end playing. Now, on a genuine PS Hardware, that's not a problem since CPU and SPU work in sync automatically, they're not affected by emulation delays... now we got emulation and things suffer delays. What happens is that the SPU stutters and jumps and most likely "misses" the point where it has to inform the CPU that it finished playing it's soundfile and that the CPU has to continue loading.

My personal "freeze favourite" was the scene where Arngrim said he would rather kill that knave. It seems that there were actually two seperate soundfiles to be played... that "I got better things to do" one never got to play in async, hence it never ended, hence the scene never progressed.


I'm using Eternal SPU, turning Audio Out Method to Thread solved the freeze problem (and made the playback stuttery like hell

Hope that helps some people here. Note: It won't help if you savestate at the frozen screen and reload there, that train is already gone, you have to load a savestate before the freezehappy part finished. I usually simply smashed my savestate the moment one of these spoken dialogues or monologues started playing."

wonder if something like this can be done or might work for fpsecce


but how do I do it?! I found a tutorial that says I need to copy the spuEternal.dll file into the plugin folder of emulator. I don't know if that tutorial explains how to use spu eternal ONLY for windows / linux, the point is that my in cellphone I can't locate any fpse's folder. I have the spu eternal but I don't know how to use it, can anyone explain it for me please? I searched the entire google for an answer and got nothing :cry:

and I must apologize, my english's terrible :|


Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:37 pm
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:04 am
Posts: 3
Primary Device: EEE Pad Transformer
Operating System: Android 3.1
ROM: Stock
Post Re: Valkyrie Profile
Hi,
the game keeps crashing at the point when valkyrie and freya teleport down to earth and after short dialog right after they port again (after Freya's line that she will teach valkyrie some things) the screen goes black and it crashes. All you can see is smaller and smaller "boxes" with controls, like it is showing all available resolution.
Any way to fix this? This is my favorite game :D
Got EEE Pad Transformer.


Tue Jun 28, 2011 6:50 pm
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:55 am
Posts: 1
Primary Device: Xperia Play
Operating System: Android
ROM: Valkyrie Profile
Post Valkyrie Profile Fix
So after endles hours of messign around in the settigns and readign endless boards, I cam across a solution to fix the issue where the game becoems pitch black as you are about to port to the world below.

I've gotten myself an emulator of ePSXe and loaded my Valkyrie Profile ISO and started a game, then progressed in the game until the first opportunity to save on memory card, then after I went in my memcards folder and took the epsxe0.mcr and renamed it slot1.mcd and transfered it into my Xperia Play's folder location (.../games/FPse/Saves/memcards/) *can be just about anything, that was the way I've set up mine.

Then in settings I've relocated the Memory Card Slot 1 to my slots1.mcd in saves and loaded the game and I was back to playing the game.

This was tested on Xperia Play using the latest version of FPse.

I've attached a folder with a save file already made that you cna transfer freely to your andoid, I can assure you that you won't miss much as it's only 5 minutes through the game. Else you can feel free to play those 5 minute on a ePSXe emulator on your PC.


Attachments:
File comment: slot1.mcd & slot2.mcd
saves.rar [2.07 KiB]
Downloaded 656 times
Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:15 am
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:44 pm
Posts: 3
Primary Device: Xperia Play
Operating System: Android
ROM: stock
Post Re: Valkyrie Profile Fix
Funny enough, I decided to start playing Valkyria Profile the other day on my Xperia when I saw your fix. And I actually didn't encounter that problem. Did they fix or something?


Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:38 am
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 6:31 pm
Posts: 1
Primary Device: Thunderbolt
ROM: skyraider zeus
Post Re: Valkyrie Profile Fix
Thanks for posting this! Just what I was looking for.
Only one issue the sound is wonky during some cutscenes and it freezes after some dialogue scenes as well.. But not always.

Is it the iso I've got you think or is it just fpse?


Wed Sep 28, 2011 6:36 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 7:09 pm
Posts: 11
Primary Device: HTC Touch Pro 2
Post Re: Valkyrie Profile Fix
Hi,

Thanks for this !


But... I still have the problem with my rom : an AWFUL sound :evil:
And it still crashes when Valkyrie is in front of Odin, at the beginning.

So I can make myself my own save as you did, but the sound is still terrible, like if your PC crashes.

Where did you get your rom, or which program did you use to rip it from original CD ?

Thanks for your answer ;)


Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:26 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 7:09 pm
Posts: 11
Primary Device: HTC Touch Pro 2
Post Re: Valkyrie Profile Fix
By the way...

You named it "slot1.mcc", should it be "slot1.mcd" ?
This save works... Thanks man


Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:29 pm
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:31 am
Posts: 1
Primary Device: Sgs 2
Operating System: Android
ROM: Lite'ning 6.1
Post Re: Valkyrie Profile
The game still crashes on sgs2 in the begining scene where the player is introduced to Odin. Tried all cpu/voice setting combinations in the emulator.
Would be nice to get this fixed.


Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:36 am
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:32 pm
Posts: 1
Primary Device: HTC Evo 3D
Operating System: Android
ROM: Infected Rom
Post Re: Valkyrie Profile
Here's the fix for Valkyrie Profile,

1. System - Dual Core boost and Thread Priority
2. Audio - Spusync
3. Video - Framelimiter, print fps


Start a new game, and try to go completely to the part where it's happening. Make sure you're hearing voices, and it's not getting cut off at the end.


Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:36 pm
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:35 am
Posts: 1
Primary Device: htc evo 3d
Operating System: windows vista
ROM: valkyrie profile
Post Hlep with valkyrie profile
the game starts perfect but when lenneth meets freya in the beginning it gets stuck she won't move any setting i need too do?

running version 0.10.57


Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:39 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kethus and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.