View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:32 pm




This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 713 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 ... 72  Next
 [02/10/2009] Latest news 
Author Message
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:26 am
Posts: 37
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
Wishmaster wrote:
leadbelly wrote:
murad12s wrote:
hey look at this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UQVHJ3U ... re=related

Snapdragon will be nothing beside this ;)


quake 3 at 35fps? i'm not impressed one bit.

Considering that it reaches 35+fps with AA and AF enabled at 800x480 resolution is impressive on mobile device.


yeah, i know it's a mobile device, and it isn't bad, don't get me wrong, but considering nvidia are a graphics card company, i expected something with a little more bang.

i had quake 3 arena on PC and it really wasn't all that demanding even back then.

recommended specs:
Win 95/98/ME/2000/NT 4.0
Quake III: Arena
PII300Mhz or AMD K6-350Mhz
16MB video card
64MB RAM

taking that into consideration, i don't think it's all that impressive. i certainly wouldn't mark it up as the next big thing.


Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:22 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:04 pm
Posts: 51
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
i900frenchaddict wrote:
I'm waiting for my 2nd TG01, hope to have it by the end of the week in my mailbox.

My banker is really gonna commit a suicide now :?


Good to hear that u are back :)

I want more videos of gameplay! Please :)


Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Profile
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:47 am
Posts: 2114
Location: France
Primary Device: Galaxy Note 2/ HTCs
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
leadbelly wrote:
i had quake 3 arena on PC and it really wasn't all that demanding even back then.

recommended specs:
Win 95/98/ME/2000/NT 4.0
Quake III: Arena
PII300Mhz or AMD K6-350Mhz
16MB video card
64MB RAM

taking that into consideration, i don't think it's all that impressive. i certainly wouldn't mark it up as the next big thing.


Only this specs? Really? With these specs, it's not easy to run a PSX emulator on WinMo.

But I agree this Nvidia device may be really good....or not, wait and see, it mainly depends on what will be developped and ported to it.
When I see the power of glide ES and the only very few games that handle it....!
When I see that the TG01 (and so HTC Leo and Acer F1, etc) are so powerfull that only FpseCE can push them to their limits (in terms of gaming, of course, you could try to zoom on an 40Mb image, it will be slow lol)

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/i900frenchaddict


Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:33 pm
Profile WWW
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:07 am
Posts: 1272
Location: Durham, United Kingdom
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 (i9505)
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
leadbelly wrote:
quake 3 at 35fps? i'm not impressed one bit.

Agreed. Now Unreal Tournament III would have been another story. ;)
Still though, the other videos of the Tegra look amazing.

_________________
Image
Platinum trophies: Uncharted, MW2, Uncharted 2, Resi 5, AC II, Fallout 3, Batman: AA, CoD: WaW, BlOps, FFXIII, BioShock, L.A. Noire, Deus Ex: HR, Uncharted 3, Heavy Rain, Batman: AC, inFAMOUS 2, The Walking Dead, Virtue's Last Reward, Borderlands


Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:10 pm
Profile
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:55 pm
Posts: 849
Primary Device: Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini pro
Operating System: Android 2.3.2
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
i900frenchaddict wrote:
My banker is really gonna commit a suicide now :?

You must said him that you are a beta-tester of new super-mega-uber ( :D ) FpseCE 0.10!!

_________________
Image


Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:42 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:26 am
Posts: 37
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
i900frenchaddict wrote:
leadbelly wrote:
i had quake 3 arena on PC and it really wasn't all that demanding even back then.

recommended specs:
Win 95/98/ME/2000/NT 4.0
Quake III: Arena
PII300Mhz or AMD K6-350Mhz
16MB video card
64MB RAM

taking that into consideration, i don't think it's all that impressive. i certainly wouldn't mark it up as the next big thing.


Only this specs? Really? With these specs, it's not easy to run a PSX emulator on WinMo.

But I agree this Nvidia device may be really good....or not, wait and see, it mainly depends on what will be developped and ported to it.
When I see the power of glide ES and the only very few games that handle it....!
When I see that the TG01 (and so HTC Leo and Acer F1, etc) are so powerfull that only FpseCE can push them to their limits (in terms of gaming, of course, you could try to zoom on an 40Mb image, it will be slow lol)


well... i think that is at normal quality and without AA.

i think this gives you a better idea of how demanding the game was.

the CPU is a pentium 3 @ 700 mhz
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/gf3q3/page4.asp

what i'm not sure about (as it doesn't say) is what settings they're using on that nvidia tegra video. is it normal quality or high quality and what level of AA is it using, etc.

if it's high quality and has 4X AA, it is comparable to a geforce 2 gts. i would say that is fairly decent performance, but not mind-blowing.

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/gf3 ... igh800.gif

maybe there is more going on there than is apparent. if they demoed a few other games we would probably get a better idea of what it's capable of from a gaming standpoint. it also depends on the prices you'll be paying for the mobile devices using the chipset.


Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:46 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 12:59 am
Posts: 18
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
bcmiko I agree the snapdragon phones are pretty big but the screens do look pretty. I've been tying resident evil 3 which works ok but characters can't talk so I have no idea what's going on also ffvii which is playable but sloow! if u could try them that would be great. thanks heaps :D


Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:43 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:42 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
As I said here :

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=110&start=10

X86 CPU's and ARM CPU's are not comparable...

An 1Ghz ARM CPU is far behind an X86 Pentium 350mhz CPU... Because their architectures are strictly different.

Remember how big a cpu-fan is needed on a X86 CPU. An ARM CPU does not need any fan....
If ARM CPU'S were powerful enough, without any need of a cooling system, they would have been used in desktop computers to avoid the use of those ugly fans.
I just want to say that "heat" likes the words "calculation-power"


Wed Oct 21, 2009 10:02 am
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:39 pm
Posts: 34
Primary Device: Sony Xperia Z
Operating System: Android 4.2.2
ROM: 10.3.1.A.0.244
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
guizmox wrote:
As I said here :

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=110&start=10

X86 CPU's and ARM CPU's are not comparable...

An 1Ghz ARM CPU is far behind an X86 Pentium 350mhz CPU... Because their architectures are strictly different.

Remember how big a cpu-fan is needed on a X86 CPU. An ARM CPU does not need any fan....
If ARM CPU'S were powerful enough, without any need of a cooling system, they would have been used in desktop computers to avoid the use of those ugly fans.
I just want to say that "heat" likes the words "calculation-power"

Well not quite.
Cortex CPU is more like atom than previous ARM's and if you compare cortex A9 to atom(A9 is OoOE and Atom is in order and it makes a great difference) you will see that cortex is better choice when it comes to rough power but unfortunately it won't run full version of windows. Dual core 1Ghz A9 SoC would easily beat Atom based netbook. Remember just because the architecture is different it doesn't mean it's worse.


Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:40 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:42 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02
You're right, I just found some things related to ARM vs X86

http://www.pocketables.net/2008/10/mid-battle-aigo.html
http://www.instat.com/promos/09/IN0904636WHT.asp

It means (in our case) that CPU is not the only responsible of slow speed. We can probably bet on bus-speed, RAM-speed, Kernel and other things that don't use the maximum power the CPU can deliver.


Wed Oct 21, 2009 3:15 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 713 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 ... 72  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.