[02/10/2009] Latest news

News of updates to FpseCE will posted here
leadbelly
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:26 am

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby leadbelly » Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:22 pm

Wishmaster wrote:
leadbelly wrote:
murad12s wrote:hey look at this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UQVHJ3U ... re=related

Snapdragon will be nothing beside this ;)


quake 3 at 35fps? i'm not impressed one bit.

Considering that it reaches 35+fps with AA and AF enabled at 800x480 resolution is impressive on mobile device.


yeah, i know it's a mobile device, and it isn't bad, don't get me wrong, but considering nvidia are a graphics card company, i expected something with a little more bang.

i had quake 3 arena on PC and it really wasn't all that demanding even back then.

recommended specs:
Win 95/98/ME/2000/NT 4.0
Quake III: Arena
PII300Mhz or AMD K6-350Mhz
16MB video card
64MB RAM

taking that into consideration, i don't think it's all that impressive. i certainly wouldn't mark it up as the next big thing.

easyone
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:04 pm

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby easyone » Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:47 pm

i900frenchaddict wrote:I'm waiting for my 2nd TG01, hope to have it by the end of the week in my mailbox.

My banker is really gonna commit a suicide now :?


Good to hear that u are back :)

I want more videos of gameplay! Please :)

User avatar
i900frenchaddict
Global Moderator
Posts: 2114
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:47 am
Primary Device: Galaxy Note 2/ HTCs
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby i900frenchaddict » Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:33 pm

leadbelly wrote:i had quake 3 arena on PC and it really wasn't all that demanding even back then.

recommended specs:
Win 95/98/ME/2000/NT 4.0
Quake III: Arena
PII300Mhz or AMD K6-350Mhz
16MB video card
64MB RAM

taking that into consideration, i don't think it's all that impressive. i certainly wouldn't mark it up as the next big thing.


Only this specs? Really? With these specs, it's not easy to run a PSX emulator on WinMo.

But I agree this Nvidia device may be really good....or not, wait and see, it mainly depends on what will be developped and ported to it.
When I see the power of glide ES and the only very few games that handle it....!
When I see that the TG01 (and so HTC Leo and Acer F1, etc) are so powerfull that only FpseCE can push them to their limits (in terms of gaming, of course, you could try to zoom on an 40Mb image, it will be slow lol)

User avatar
CloudStrife86
Global Moderator
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:07 am
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 (i9505)
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
Location: Durham, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby CloudStrife86 » Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:10 pm

leadbelly wrote:quake 3 at 35fps? i'm not impressed one bit.

Agreed. Now Unreal Tournament III would have been another story. ;)
Still though, the other videos of the Tegra look amazing.
Image
Platinum trophies: Uncharted, MW2, Uncharted 2, Resi 5, AC II, Fallout 3, Batman: AA, CoD: WaW, BlOps, FFXIII, BioShock, L.A. Noire, Deus Ex: HR, Uncharted 3, Heavy Rain, Batman: AC, inFAMOUS 2, The Walking Dead, Virtue's Last Reward, Borderlands

User avatar
Q-Ball
Global Moderator
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:55 pm
Primary Device: Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini pro
Operating System: Android 2.3.2
Contact:

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby Q-Ball » Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:42 pm

i900frenchaddict wrote:My banker is really gonna commit a suicide now :?

You must said him that you are a beta-tester of new super-mega-uber ( :D ) FpseCE 0.10!!
Image

leadbelly
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:26 am

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby leadbelly » Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:46 pm

i900frenchaddict wrote:
leadbelly wrote:i had quake 3 arena on PC and it really wasn't all that demanding even back then.

recommended specs:
Win 95/98/ME/2000/NT 4.0
Quake III: Arena
PII300Mhz or AMD K6-350Mhz
16MB video card
64MB RAM

taking that into consideration, i don't think it's all that impressive. i certainly wouldn't mark it up as the next big thing.


Only this specs? Really? With these specs, it's not easy to run a PSX emulator on WinMo.

But I agree this Nvidia device may be really good....or not, wait and see, it mainly depends on what will be developped and ported to it.
When I see the power of glide ES and the only very few games that handle it....!
When I see that the TG01 (and so HTC Leo and Acer F1, etc) are so powerfull that only FpseCE can push them to their limits (in terms of gaming, of course, you could try to zoom on an 40Mb image, it will be slow lol)


well... i think that is at normal quality and without AA.

i think this gives you a better idea of how demanding the game was.

the CPU is a pentium 3 @ 700 mhz
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/gf3q3/page4.asp

what i'm not sure about (as it doesn't say) is what settings they're using on that nvidia tegra video. is it normal quality or high quality and what level of AA is it using, etc.

if it's high quality and has 4X AA, it is comparable to a geforce 2 gts. i would say that is fairly decent performance, but not mind-blowing.

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/gf3 ... igh800.gif

maybe there is more going on there than is apparent. if they demoed a few other games we would probably get a better idea of what it's capable of from a gaming standpoint. it also depends on the prices you'll be paying for the mobile devices using the chipset.

since04
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 12:59 am

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby since04 » Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:43 pm

bcmiko I agree the snapdragon phones are pretty big but the screens do look pretty. I've been tying resident evil 3 which works ok but characters can't talk so I have no idea what's going on also ffvii which is playable but sloow! if u could try them that would be great. thanks heaps :D

guizmox
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:42 pm

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby guizmox » Wed Oct 21, 2009 10:02 am

As I said here :

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=110&start=10

X86 CPU's and ARM CPU's are not comparable...

An 1Ghz ARM CPU is far behind an X86 Pentium 350mhz CPU... Because their architectures are strictly different.

Remember how big a cpu-fan is needed on a X86 CPU. An ARM CPU does not need any fan....
If ARM CPU'S were powerful enough, without any need of a cooling system, they would have been used in desktop computers to avoid the use of those ugly fans.
I just want to say that "heat" likes the words "calculation-power"

Wishmaster
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:39 pm
Primary Device: Sony Xperia Z
Operating System: Android 4.2.2
ROM: 10.3.1.A.0.244

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby Wishmaster » Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:40 pm

guizmox wrote:As I said here :

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=110&start=10

X86 CPU's and ARM CPU's are not comparable...

An 1Ghz ARM CPU is far behind an X86 Pentium 350mhz CPU... Because their architectures are strictly different.

Remember how big a cpu-fan is needed on a X86 CPU. An ARM CPU does not need any fan....
If ARM CPU'S were powerful enough, without any need of a cooling system, they would have been used in desktop computers to avoid the use of those ugly fans.
I just want to say that "heat" likes the words "calculation-power"

Well not quite.
Cortex CPU is more like atom than previous ARM's and if you compare cortex A9 to atom(A9 is OoOE and Atom is in order and it makes a great difference) you will see that cortex is better choice when it comes to rough power but unfortunately it won't run full version of windows. Dual core 1Ghz A9 SoC would easily beat Atom based netbook. Remember just because the architecture is different it doesn't mean it's worse.

guizmox
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:42 pm

Re: Lasts News from 2009/10/02

Postby guizmox » Wed Oct 21, 2009 3:15 pm

You're right, I just found some things related to ARM vs X86

http://www.pocketables.net/2008/10/mid-battle-aigo.html
http://www.instat.com/promos/09/IN0904636WHT.asp

It means (in our case) that CPU is not the only responsible of slow speed. We can probably bet on bus-speed, RAM-speed, Kernel and other things that don't use the maximum power the CPU can deliver.


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests