fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Old threads
User avatar
Baronic
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:17 am

fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby Baronic » Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:03 am

story is i was tinkering around much with the fpsece.ini trying to speed things up. then i must have done something wrong because videos no longer played, just a gray screen.

i restored the ini from a previous back up and now whenever combat is initiated in ff8 the game hangs. (same music playing in background, not combat music, black screen)0. i've eventried reinstalling, hard resetting my entire device still the problem persists. any suggestions?

User avatar
mastanobu
Addict
Posts: 369
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:14 am
Primary Device: Touch Pro 2 (Tilt 2)
Operating System: build 21887 6.5
ROM: Josh's PerfectBlack 1.7-FINAL
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby mastanobu » Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:59 am

Have you tried reinstalling and starting with the default ini and seeing if that one works OK?
Find me at http://www.totalgamerz.com - Ryo
XDA - ryotgz

User avatar
Baronic
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:17 am

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby Baronic » Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:09 am

nope everything is fine, no installed hardware i even hard resetted to be sure. the fpsece is working fine just the fight scene it hangs as described above.

EDIT 1: just reinstalled everyting and tried from original ini. still doesnt work.

EDIT 2: wtf i just tried to start a new game to see if its savestate import issue related but halfway thru movie intro of ff the game shuts itself down!!

User avatar
xmfreak
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:07 pm
Location: Barcelona

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby xmfreak » Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:44 am

Did you try a different bios? Did you try some games?
My FPSEce WQVGA & WVGA Skin: Click here for download links : )
FF7 video on Xperia (overclock) Click here
Image

User avatar
alkarl
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:22 am

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby alkarl » Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:22 am

leaving frame skip on can cause the mdec crash (ff9),
but since it an mdec related problem then you can tinker with the following settings:
LastSPU, HLE, UseOtherMDEC, RunSPUsync, ARMcoremmx ,gfxdrv (1 is always faster).

you didn't mention what kind of iso you were using, try a not-ripped raw-extracted iso,
if you already have it try epsxe to ensure if it is not an iso related problem.
IPAQ 210

Screen: 640x480 VGA 4 inch
Keyboard: d-pad, 6 keys
Memory: 128MB Ram, 256MB Rom
CPU: Marvell PXA310 625Mhz

User avatar
Baronic
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:17 am

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby Baronic » Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:58 am

thanks for the suggestions, will give those steps a try. and no definitely not bios/iso problem since there was no problem before this

User avatar
alkarl
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:22 am

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby alkarl » Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:10 pm

i didn't mention bios anywhere,
actually you should make sure that it's not an sd card problem,
progs like memaid can scan your sdcard and attempt to correct bad sectors,
and it has also the ability to display cpu usage ( i discovered that aebuttonplus can eat cpu while background so you should always make sure when making diagnosis)
IPAQ 210

Screen: 640x480 VGA 4 inch
Keyboard: d-pad, 6 keys
Memory: 128MB Ram, 256MB Rom
CPU: Marvell PXA310 625Mhz

User avatar
Baronic
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:17 am

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby Baronic » Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:51 pm

still not working. could u zip up your FPSECE folder and let me have a whirl at it, try to figure out if its FPSECE or my rom problem (which shouldnt be, considering it was working fine before today). If you're a donation member u can leave out the exe, i'm a donation member too and i have my own.

UPDATE: fighting scene most definitely triggers it, but i also tried to avoid fighting scene and go into menu and when i tried to save or do anything it hanged again, with Framerate still moving.
Last edited by CloudStrife86 on Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please read the rules: Do not double post.

User avatar
alkarl
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:22 am

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby alkarl » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:14 pm

there.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=5ZF0PUU0

you hard reseted your hardware then reinstalled fpsece,
these steps are correct but still,
if you want to make a real clean start you have to change your rom and check for errors in your sd card,
the sector of your rom could be ok but the FAT could be damaged (in fact it's easily damageable) a scan is recommended,
the fact that the display (fps) is still working means that it's not a hardware freeze,
i have only seen this kind of freeze once and it was with a ripped rom, maybe it's trying to access 3d models or textures..
Last edited by CloudStrife86 on Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No double posting please.
IPAQ 210

Screen: 640x480 VGA 4 inch
Keyboard: d-pad, 6 keys
Memory: 128MB Ram, 256MB Rom
CPU: Marvell PXA310 625Mhz

User avatar
Baronic
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:17 am

Re: fpsece keeps hanging all of a sudden

Postby Baronic » Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:30 pm

i just tried everything, reinstalling, reformatting memory card, reflashing rom, still no joy. even worse i just realised that ALL my playstation games are crashing as described above (black screen with fps running)

please help! sucks that this doesnt work suddenly, had such high hope i donated for this T.T


Return to “Archives”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests