BizLink MHL Adapter

User avatar
Phaedrus Nine
Global Moderator
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:06 am
Primary Device: HTC HD 2 (Leo)
Operating System: 6.5.X (5.2.23549)
ROM: Miri HD2 6.5.X V10
Location: Grimsby, UK

BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby Phaedrus Nine » Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:32 am

Hey guys, I've recently bought an MHL adapter from bizLink for use with games on my Galaxy S2. Typically though it works fantastic with everything BUT Fpse. Every other game, film, picture scales up fine on the HD TV, but with Fpse it is pixelated to hell. Strange though because on a lot of YouTube videos it appears to work fine. I'm not sure if it's because i've bought a 3rd party adapter and not Samsung, I doubt that's the case.

Anyone else got this adapter? Anyone got any ideas why Fpse is the only program to not scale well.
Image
"Learn everything about something, and something about everything"
http://www.youtube.com/user/PhaedrusNine

NZtechfreak
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:57 pm
Primary Device: SGSII
Operating System: Android
ROM: Cognition 1.13

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby NZtechfreak » Thu Jul 21, 2011 3:47 pm

I have the official Samsung one, its the same. I think its just a natural ramification of viewing PS1 graphics on a larger higher resolution screen isn't it?

User avatar
Phaedrus Nine
Global Moderator
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:06 am
Primary Device: HTC HD 2 (Leo)
Operating System: 6.5.X (5.2.23549)
ROM: Miri HD2 6.5.X V10
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby Phaedrus Nine » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:11 pm

I don't think so, considering everything else scales up just fine. N64 and SNES emulators look the same. Just Fpse that doesn't. At least I know it's the same with the official samsung adapter. Though I have seen videos on YouTube of people using them, and it looks as it should.

Edit:

I just had a look at the video you link to on YouTube, featuring Tekken 3 on Fpse. I have tried this game using my MHL cable, and it is WAY more pixelated than the video there shows.
Image
"Learn everything about something, and something about everything"
http://www.youtube.com/user/PhaedrusNine

NZtechfreak
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:57 pm
Primary Device: SGSII
Operating System: Android
ROM: Cognition 1.13

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby NZtechfreak » Fri Jul 22, 2011 1:00 am

Strange - its a standard connection, so it shouldn't matter who produced the adapter (I actually have a prototype MHL cable and it works just like my official one).

I would try with a different HDMI cable, and after a fresh boot (if you haven't already). Those are two things I've seen others do to sort problems with MHL cables.

User avatar
Phaedrus Nine
Global Moderator
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:06 am
Primary Device: HTC HD 2 (Leo)
Operating System: 6.5.X (5.2.23549)
ROM: Miri HD2 6.5.X V10
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby Phaedrus Nine » Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:29 pm

Thanks for the tips, I'll give it a shot.
Image
"Learn everything about something, and something about everything"
http://www.youtube.com/user/PhaedrusNine

NZtechfreak
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:57 pm
Primary Device: SGSII
Operating System: Android
ROM: Cognition 1.13

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby NZtechfreak » Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:08 am

Any luck?

User avatar
Phaedrus Nine
Global Moderator
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:06 am
Primary Device: HTC HD 2 (Leo)
Operating System: 6.5.X (5.2.23549)
ROM: Miri HD2 6.5.X V10
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby Phaedrus Nine » Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:31 am

Nope, none at all. It's still the same. Also I've noticed that with this adapter on screen controls for other emulators are a little off. With the mhl cable disconnected it's fine. Very strange.
Image
"Learn everything about something, and something about everything"
http://www.youtube.com/user/PhaedrusNine

NZtechfreak
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:57 pm
Primary Device: SGSII
Operating System: Android
ROM: Cognition 1.13

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby NZtechfreak » Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:44 am

Strange, sorry I can't help more, the things I suggested were the only things that I'd seen others try with success troubleshooting MHL problems...

User avatar
Phaedrus Nine
Global Moderator
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:06 am
Primary Device: HTC HD 2 (Leo)
Operating System: 6.5.X (5.2.23549)
ROM: Miri HD2 6.5.X V10
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby Phaedrus Nine » Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:49 am

Well thanks for the help anyway, I might have to invest in the more expensive official cable.
Image
"Learn everything about something, and something about everything"
http://www.youtube.com/user/PhaedrusNine

User avatar
i900frenchaddict
Global Moderator
Posts: 2114
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:47 am
Primary Device: Galaxy Note 2/ HTCs
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BizLink MHL Adapter

Postby i900frenchaddict » Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:24 pm

hmmm...is your TV full HD?

I mean the difference between a 1080p LED TV and a a 720 plasma one will be huge

I remember the time of my i900 Omnia with it's TV out (with red/white/yellow video cable ^^)=> FpseCE was pixellated as hell even on a regular old style TV!

N64oid using openGL, it has a really much better definition than Fpse.
I think SNES emulators can give the equivalent of SVGA, when Fpse gives less than 500x300 stretched to fill the screen of your TV in my opinion (like it was for FpseCE ?)

Even on my Sensation and it's qHD screen, games seems much more pixelated than on my HD2 WVGA


Return to “Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-i9100)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests