Loading .bin/.cue games

Koborover
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:29 pm
Primary Device: Sony Ericsson Xperia Play
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: Stock
Location: Netherlands

Loading .bin/.cue games

Postby Koborover » Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:16 pm

Hi guys, I have a question about loading .bin/.cue files with multiple tracks in FPse (0.11.28).

I can load .iso games perfectly and also .cue games when they only have a data track (one .bin). But when a game has one or more audio tracks after the data track and I load the .cue, FPse boots into the PS1 CD Player as if the disc is a music CD.

For example, disc 1 of Colony Wars consists of three files:

    Colony Wars (USA) (Disc 1) (Track 1).bin
    Colony Wars (USA) (Disc 1) (Track 2).bin
    Colony Wars (USA) (Disc 1).cue

The .cue file looks like this:

    FILE "Colony Wars (USA) (Disc 1) (Track 1).bin" BINARY
    TRACK 01 MODE2/2352
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
    FILE "Colony Wars (USA) (Disc 1) (Track 2).bin" BINARY
    TRACK 02 AUDIO
    INDEX 00 00:00:00
    INDEX 01 00:02:00

This .cue seems valid (all games from this "professional" ROM set I got have this format). Am I overlooking something? Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Koborover on Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:30 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 600
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Loading .BIN/.CUE games with CD Audio boots into CD Play

Postby bluezeak » Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:26 pm

when fpse can't recognise the disk (or recognizes it but cant see game data) it goes to the bios screen. Commonly, bad / corrupt roms will cause fpse to boot to the bios screen.

I have a couple games similar in format, with multiple bin files, to yours. if I tell fpse to boot from the correct .bin, it works.
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

Koborover
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:29 pm
Primary Device: Sony Ericsson Xperia Play
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: Stock
Location: Netherlands

Re: Loading .BIN/.CUE games with CD Audio boots into CD Play

Postby Koborover » Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:12 am

Thanks for the reply.

Indeed the game does boot when you load the first .bin containing the data track. However with only the data track, the game plays without CD audio. Makes sense because this way you miss out on the audio information in the .cue file.

So I guess FPse is not fully compatible with this particular .bin/.cue format. I remember from Sega CD emulation that there's also a .bin/.cue format in which you always have one .bin file with both data and (if present) audio information. The accompanying .cue file then seperates the data track and audio track(s) with track times etc. I suppose this is the format FPse wants, I'll try and see.

It would be nice if FPse could be made compatible with the "multiple .bin" format, as it's used by at least one popular ROM set (Redump.org).

Koborover
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:29 pm
Primary Device: Sony Ericsson Xperia Play
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: Stock
Location: Netherlands

Re: Loading .BIN/.CUE games with CD Audio boots into CD Play

Postby Koborover » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:12 pm

Yep the "single .bin" format works, I tried Star Wars: Masters of Teräs Käsi and the CD audio tracks play in-game (with slight stuttering and pitch issues).

aftershock
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:14 am
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 i9300
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock 4.04 Rom, rooted

Re: Loading .bin/.cue games [SOLVED: Use "single .bin" forma

Postby aftershock » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:49 am

Loading the cue file gives me the full CA audio tracks in game. If its not for you I suspect an error in the cue file.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests