Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

sawrip
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:43 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S2
Operating System: Android
ROM: Gingerbread

Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

Postby sawrip » Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:31 pm

Hi everyone just bring playing through ff8 (I am on disc 3) and it was all going well till an fmv sequence on the lunar base called the lunar cry seems to cause fpse to freeze - the fmv finishes and then you are unable to move squall around - any ideas would be a massive help.

I have also noticed that when Ioad the game either through save states or the memory card the room in the lunar base is all grainy with big green squares laid on top of the graphics (could be a sign of a corrupt rom file?)

Regards Tom

mccar42
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:38 pm
Primary Device: Xperia Play Verizon CDMA
Operating System: Android 2.3.2
ROM: Stock

Re: Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

Postby mccar42 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:28 pm

I know this sounds ridiculous but it worked for me after freezing at the Lunar Cry scene about 6 times in a row.
I looked on the web for a good hour an a half and found someone post this and sure enough it worked first try...

During the scene just mash all your buttons until about 5 sec after the FMV is over ( your toon will talk to the guy if it worked )

It sounds stupid but it did work!
I hastily ran into the med bay to save =p

Any way hope this advise helps people who want to play one of the best games created!

killkrazy
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:34 pm
Primary Device: xperia play rogers
Operating System: andriod 2.33

Re: Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

Postby killkrazy » Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:37 pm

hi i tried doing what you said about mashing all the buttons but it still didnt work.....

trev186
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:13 am
Primary Device: Nexus One

Re: Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

Postby trev186 » Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:03 am

I had this problem on my orginal ps1 in the exact same spot. I believe this is an issue that has to do more with the version of the game and type of ps1 u had or in thus case are now trying to emulate.

On my original ps1 I had to open and close the disc cover.

If u can't get passed this I recommend u save just before the video to a memory card and load it on a pc emulator. Let the video play then save again and return.

tirita
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:17 pm
Primary Device: pc
Operating System: windows
ROM: psx

Re: Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

Postby tirita » Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:22 pm

I HAVE TRIED SMASH ALL BUTTON IN 5 SECOND " AND IT'S REALLY WORK"

TRY IT

REMEBER ONLY 5 SECOND TRY TO SMASH ALL BUTTON
IF YOU FAIL IN FIRST TIME TRY ONE MORE TIME

tirita
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:17 pm
Primary Device: pc
Operating System: windows
ROM: psx

Re: Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

Postby tirita » Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:24 pm

SMASH ALL BUTTON IN 5 SEC DURING FMV PLAY

ONLY 5 SEC

IT WORK

deegan87
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:16 am
Primary Device: Lenovo Thinkpad Tablet
Operating System: Android 4.1.2
ROM: Cyanogenmod 10

Re: Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

Postby deegan87 » Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:21 am

I just faced this exact issue in Retroarch with the PCSX-reARMed core on an android tablet running cm10. I loaded a state from right before the FMV, set the region to PAL (under Core Options) and the issue was fixed after the first try. (I also set vertical sync to off in Video Settings, but I doubt this did anything.)

carlocxuez
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 1:53 am
Primary Device: htc phone

Re: Final Fantasy 8 Lunar Cry freezes after fmv...

Postby carlocxuez » Sat Aug 10, 2013 2:12 am

deegan87 wrote:I just faced this exact issue in Retroarch with the PCSX-reARMed core on an android tablet dbuying running cm10. I loaded a state from right before the FMV, set the region to PAL (under Core Options) and the issue was fixed after the first try. (I also set vertical sync to off in Video Settings, but I doubt this did anything.)


Thanks for your share, it's very useful


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests