Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Fresh Fish
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:09 pm
Primary Device: Android

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby pusha06 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:49 pm

max3000 wrote:Everyone who's on android 2.1:

Try and look for a custom 2.2 ROM. I'm on a milestone and running cyanogenmod 6.1.2 which is awesome. I bet if you look in XDA developers you will find a 2.2 ROM for your phone.
It won't just make FPSE better, it'll make your phone significantly better in a lot of ways.

schtruck: Thank you for the hard work. I hope the fix for the configuration crashing will come soon because I cannot turn off the overlays and other things as well.
As far as the emulation goes - almost perfect!

sadly, not all phones have custom 2.2 roms...
some of us are hopelessly stuck on 2.1 :(

Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:44 pm
Primary Device: Droid X, Sony Tablet S
Operating System: Android 2.2.1
ROM: Liberty 1.5 Rooted 1.3 Ghz

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby xaviorffviii » Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:15 pm

Droid X 2.2 Rooted at 1.3Ghz


Problems so far

-FMVs / No sound, but video looks like it plays smoothly
-In-game sound effects / Off by about a quarter of a second
-With frame-skip "on" / In battle menus disappear (Something similar happens with frame-skip in FFVIII during intro with credits)
-Frame skip "on at 50" / Gameplay becomes rough around the edges as far as smoothness.

Unfortunately can't get the best of both worlds of smooth gameplay/sound, and nice visuals.
These are the settings I used to get good speed, and visuals when "allowed".

This is with HLE mode / off

FFIX walking around "Outside of Battle"

spu sync / off
frame limiter / off
frame skip / 50
screen filtering / on
screen size / full screen (tried with 3/4 with no noticeable speed differences, so full screen is pref)

Works smoothly with sound and video (though there are missing frames because frame skip is on, and is noticeable, which I'm not thrilled about)

FFIX "In Battle"

Spu sync / off
frame limiter / on
frame skip / off or low
screen filtering / off
screen size / full screen (tried with 3/4 with no noticeable speed differences, so full screen is pref)

Works "alright", not great.

Having to switch between settings for every battle is not ideal.
Not to mention in battle you have to drop the visuals a lot, and that makes it not that great to look at, or play.
Psx4droid v1.7 does better for FFIX "at the moment". I feel FPse will work better in the long run though. I just hope the updates come sooner than later!

I'm going to wait for updates to check FFVIII further, but I'm sure FPse works better for FFVIII since psx4droid had a LOT of problems.
Last edited by xaviorffviii on Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:03 pm
Primary Device: hd2

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby kokotas » Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:16 pm

Tested on hd2 running mdj revolution froyo latest rom, oc'ed to 1500mhz. I tried crash bandicoot 3 and alundra. Both games run pretty smooth, and even exceed 50fps if I remove the limiter. Three things I noticed:

1) Crash Bandicoot ran faster when using HLE instead of bios (or so I think).
2) Multitouch stopped responding when trying to press UP+square,DOWN+square, LEFT+x,RIGHT+x. Basically I cound jump left or right :P That could be because of hd2's multitouch issues though.
3)G-sensor didn't quite work.

Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:21 am

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Azerty16 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:53 pm

Want a new pad for Fpse? , see this : viewtopic.php?f=36&t=2039 .

User avatar
Phaedrus Nine
Global Moderator
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:06 am
Primary Device: HTC HD 2 (Leo)
Operating System: 6.5.X (5.2.23549)
ROM: Miri HD2 6.5.X V10
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Phaedrus Nine » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:33 pm

schtruck wrote:ok , i know now where it crash, it's when it read overlay pads path name.

Can you tried that:

into fpse.ini Section Android:

can you verify what Skin_path contain please?

I changed builds and it worked. But i prefer Android build I had, I guess fpse isn't quite compatible with it.
"Learn everything about something, and something about everything"

Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:29 am

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby max3000 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:34 pm

I have just one problem with FFIX:

Every time there's a 2D overlay (in game menus) it slows down to 50% speed.
IE - when a battle starts with the full 3D environment - it works at 100%. When the 2D overlay that shows HP etc it goes to 50%. Which is weird.

Any thoughts on that shtruck?

Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:25 pm
Primary Device: SGS
ROM: Froyo 2.2.1 JPY

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Moli » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:38 pm

uwndrd wrote:Schtruck, there is an issue with multitouch: when you pressing both buttons and d-pad keys (for example, when you pressing forward (X) and turning (d-pad) in Need For Speed), it works somehow wrong, like turning too much in one side or not turning at all. It is not a device-specific issue (it works that way on Moto Droid/Milestone and Galaxy S, which don't have multitouch issues, unlike older HTCs).

I've already posted it, but in a wrong thread, i think.

I have also serious problems in galaxy s, controls do not respond well, sometimes multitouch remain powered in directions pressed, GT2 I can not play, the directions are pressed, and not respond correctly and lags, this in psx4droid not, I hope you can solve this problem soon

Android 2.2.1 oficial ROM of samsung

Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:12 pm
Primary Device: HTC HD2 (Desire HD)
Operating System: Android
Location: England

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby elgrego » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:43 pm

I'm a little confussed, if I bought the winmo version do i have to pay for the android one? Also I looked on market and could not find anything?

Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:31 pm
Primary Device: Droid 2
Operating System: Android 2.2

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby rufio » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:56 pm

Not sure if folks are having similar problems that I am, but I definitely see a lot of Final Fantasy players running into similar issues.
I'm running FFVII on a Motorola Droid 2, I've run into some issues so far:

- I'm having issues where I save the game at different points to different slots, and no matter which one I load, they all go to the same one, which is the most recent save I made.
- Saving was buggy at first. After I made the first save, the game crashed, and everytime I tried to load it, I met with the same result. I did however, save the "ingame" way at a save point, and I could load that. From then on, when I saved/loaded through FPSE's save/load function, it worked okay.
- The big one right now for me is audio, which everyone seems to be having. When I started playing the sound was fine, but after the first save, when I crashed, it is noticeably different, and cuts itself short. I have tried fiddling with the audio options, multiple video options, and some of the main settings, nothing improves the sound back to the way it originally was.


For this being the first release I've been pleasantly surprised. I've been following this app for a few months, after I came across psx4droid and read the community's comments about how they were not receiving feedback, and experiencing large amounts of bugs. A big thankyou to the forum moderators, and Schtruck for the fast updates and responses. Cheers.

Fresh Fish
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 2:13 am
Primary Device: driod 2 global

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby rianshima » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:57 pm

Been playing around with some different roms, FF8 no sound in some of the cutscenes but plays smooth. game play is smooth.
sounds in game is pretty decent except sometimes with menu sound fx
Im using droid 2 global and the hardware keyboard option is working great that i can tell

When i activate frameskip 50 everything is like on fast foward mode

uhmm anyways thats all for now. loving it so far!

Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest