Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 2451
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:24 pm

multikey is actually disabled, cause not finished. will be activated in somes days.


About the Loadbios problem, Set to Default config, and other problems everything is related to One bug into Android APIve with AlertBox.

I will update FPse within one or two hours and will replace Alertbox by other stuff... you won't have crash anymore.

Malsa
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:28 pm
Primary Device: SE X10i
Operating System: Android 2.2

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Malsa » Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:26 pm

Installed the latest update - BIG improvement on my rooted X10i with custom 2.2! :D
FF9 runs a lot better, sounds are good too - but the battle menu isn't visible at all! I hope you are able to fix that in the near future.
Cut-scenes are not perfect, still some lag. Item/Ability/Status menu in FF9 is slower than rest of the game.
Anti-aliasing, as mentioned, would be a nice option to have. :)
It would be great if you could add START and SELECT buttons on the screen in landscape mode, also R1 & R2 and L1 & L2 of course.
Last edited by Malsa on Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Phaedrus Nine
Global Moderator
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:06 am
Primary Device: HTC HD 2 (Leo)
Operating System: 6.5.X (5.2.23549)
ROM: Miri HD2 6.5.X V10
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Phaedrus Nine » Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:33 pm

Malsa wrote:Installed the latest update - BIG improvement on my rooted X10i with custom 2.2! :D
FF9 runs a lot better, sounds are good too - but the battle menu isn't visible at all! I hope you are able to fix that in the near future.
Cut-scenes are not perfect, still some lag.
Anti-aliasing, as mentioned, would be a nice option to have. :)
It would be great if you could add START and SELECT buttons on the screen in landscape mode, also R1 & R2 and L1 & L2 of course.


If you've got framskip on, the battle menu isn't visible in FFIX.
The other buttons are available in landscape, go to SETTINGS/INPUT/TOUCHSCREEN then it will give you a list of overlays to draw.
Image
"Learn everything about something, and something about everything"
http://www.youtube.com/user/PhaedrusNine

Malsa
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:28 pm
Primary Device: SE X10i
Operating System: Android 2.2

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Malsa » Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:44 pm

Ok I tried without frameskip.
Now cut-scenes don't have any sound at all, but also no lag.
Sounds are once again kind of strange, especially noticeable in the menus. The classic *twink!* sounds like *tap*. :P Some other sound effects are off too.
Battle menus are indeed visible without frameskip, but battles are also really slow without it.
I get a force close when pressing "Touchscreen" in SETTINGS/INPUT/

Thanks for the help nevertheless.

User avatar
i900frenchaddict
Global Moderator
Posts: 2114
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:47 am
Primary Device: Galaxy Note 2/ HTCs
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby i900frenchaddict » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:10 pm

Some more tests, Tekken 3, on my HD2 running SuperRam build Android froyo

=> Like for GT2, I have no music, just FXsounds, whatever if I use spusynch or not
=> Like for GT2, back to android homsecreen if I want to use the Boost function
=> Tekken 3 is slow, I woud say about 32fps (can't we have an Fps counter?) like on FpseCE without patch=48 indeed, especially when filtering is ON. With frameskip to 50, it's laggy. Back to homescreen if I want to use boost

Shouldn't HLE be disactivated automatically once a bios is loaded?

veryevil
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:02 pm
Primary Device: Google Nexus S

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby veryevil » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:13 pm

Hey, really loving this now. Playing Final Fantasy VII and its working great on Google Nexus S (android 2.3.2).

To get it working I have to turn off the frame limiter, disable the overlay and set the frame skip to anything but off although +30 works best.

Only problems I get now are the fight swirl animation is skipped (not a big deal) and if frame skip is on any setting other than off the hand pointer during battles doesn't work so enemies cannot be selected. It only works when frame skip is off but when frame skip is off fights become unbearably slow!

The top left part of the battle menu shows a little square of the section of the screen where the enemy is like a little preview window but no hand appears.

If this could be fixed then this will be the best thing since sliced bread.

Cheers for all your had work
Love it
Steven

User avatar
Phaedrus Nine
Global Moderator
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:06 am
Primary Device: HTC HD 2 (Leo)
Operating System: 6.5.X (5.2.23549)
ROM: Miri HD2 6.5.X V10
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Phaedrus Nine » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:20 pm

More tests:

Future Cop LAPD - very slow in landscape, sound works well though.
Point Blank - I have no idea how to set the A or B buttons so can't progress. They don't seem to be assignable to hardware.
Silen Hill - No idea why, but the landscape overlays and portrait pad just don't work well at all with this game.

Boost mode just won't work, which was a big help with FpseCE running games like future cop and metal gear. Most games are very slow in landscape for me. Maybe I should switch to NAND, if it helps.

I'm with frenchaddict, I miss the fps counter.
Image
"Learn everything about something, and something about everything"
http://www.youtube.com/user/PhaedrusNine

User avatar
Q-Ball
Global Moderator
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:55 pm
Primary Device: Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini pro
Operating System: Android 2.3.2
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Q-Ball » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:22 pm

Can anyone tell me if emulation on Android is faster then on WinCE?
Especially interested in performance with Breath of Fire IV.
Image

User avatar
Therev
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:12 pm
Primary Device: HTC Incredible / Omnia I910
ROM: CM7

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Therev » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:26 pm

Finally Tekken 3 full speed :) enabled hle, set frame skip to 40 , smooth as butter, nice work schtruck!! Loving it

Edit: can't really compare but bof4 is running great. Loads better than Psx4droid

max3000
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:29 am

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby max3000 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:46 pm

Everyone who's on android 2.1:

Try and look for a custom 2.2 ROM. I'm on a milestone and running cyanogenmod 6.1.2 which is awesome. I bet if you look in XDA developers you will find a 2.2 ROM for your phone.
It won't just make FPSE better, it'll make your phone significantly better in a lot of ways.

schtruck: Thank you for the hard work. I hope the fix for the configuration crashing will come soon because I cannot turn off the overlays and other things as well.
As far as the emulation goes - almost perfect!


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest