Fpse for Android News

User avatar
treekz
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 9:31 pm
Primary Device: HTC Desire S
Operating System: Android

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby treekz » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:51 am

@Mr Bluezeak yes apparently when i download opengl things just hang after reopening fpse. Thanks for the clear data tip. It was very helpful.

@Sir Schtruck I'll try to send more data thanks for the hard work.

blue_dusk
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 4:30 am
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S2
Operating System: Android
ROM: Cyanogenmod 9.1

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby blue_dusk » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:00 am

Thanks for the detailed reply bluezeak. I agree wholeheartedly. The update schedule and commitment from schtruck is great, and the emulation options are very well generalised for maximum compatibility. I think I'll keep playing ff7 with the .28 release for now, as the music is better synchronised in that release, and even with your list of recommended opengl settings I was unable to get past the first battle swirl without a forced game restart. I do notice that the quality of sound is generally better in .37 though.

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 600
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby bluezeak » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:34 am

@blue_dusk:
see my opengl post (see my signature for link). Specifically, see the chainfire3d section. on page 3 snakeblizkin mentions some issues which he used chainfire to ... help with. he has the same phone as you (it looks like). However, I've updated my chainfire3d section since then with Carlos25's experience. I don't have the chainfire3d app, but from these users' input you can probably get it working for you if you want to try to experience opengl. For me - I'm spoiled. I can't play without it now, even though it has slowdowns. The graphics are just too poor without it / too good with it.

I know we have a TON of options with openGL, but the truth is all our options (almost all) are just special fixes. The ACTUAL openGL options, the ones that control how well it performs and it's compatibility modes, schtruck has hard coded. they're the ones that you mainly spend time setting on the plugin on the PC. I think he has it set for max compatibilty, but I'm not sure.
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

ferrummaster
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:22 pm
Primary Device: P990
Operating System: WIN8
ROM: Custom

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby ferrummaster » Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:01 pm

I got my save backup, everything is fine. It got messed up, I do not use default save paths. Now when I setup custom save path FPSE got FC. I managed to set it once tough... at first time.

BTW anyone managed to run wipeout 3 with openGL now?

User avatar
ArcticZero
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 6:32 am
Primary Device: Samsung i9100
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: CyanogenMod 9 (Latest Nightly)

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby ArcticZero » Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:12 pm

Heya schtruck, got a question. I don't own an online credit card so I can't use Play Store, but I really want to buy FPSe somehow. Is there any other way one can purchase the app from you? Thanks! :)

User avatar
Tumalu
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:13 am
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy SII

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Tumalu » Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:36 pm

Schtruck, I would like to download an older version of fpse again. Where can I do this? I bought it via play store since the start of fpse. But I haven't found a way to revert back to .28 version....

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 1942
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:40 pm

i found that Moving saves directory from internal mem to sdcard/.fpse wasn't worked for everyone and finally the workaround was to use the backup function to recover savestates. but those functions does not work on fpse 0.11.37, i'm fixing that.

if you can pass the message via Google play comments, that 0.11.38 will permit to recover lost savestates, if people haven't found their savestates, they do not have to uninstall fpse or savestates will be completely lost.
will update tomorow morning GMT.

Edzward
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 12:11 pm
Primary Device: xperia x10 Mini pro
Operating System: Android
ROM: MiniCM9

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Edzward » Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:31 am

I can confirm that some sound effects in Final Fantasy Tactics are better in .37 with 'Fix Distortion' checked.


By the way, to fix the translucent menu, check 'Alpha Multipass' using OpenGL.

Using Xperia X10 Mini with MiniCM9.

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 600
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby bluezeak » Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:19 am

edzward - check my opengl thread - see my signature for link. fft was one of the first games I tested to learn about alpha multipass.

@ferrummaster: you have your saves in a safe place now? did you try a) rebooting your phone and b) reinstalling fpse?

@Tumalu - what does not run as well? screenfilterinng in software mode? thread priority? that doesn't do anything for me either, but I think schtruck implemented it for specific hardware / situations. schtruck is rapidly adjusting fpse to adress issue with the update. and .. the updates are designed to make fpse better....
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

foleyjo
Enthusiast
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:22 pm
Primary Device: JXD S601

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby foleyjo » Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:48 am

I've realised that the increased sound lag on 2d sections has increased lag on 3d sections.
Also having problems with framerate limiter not working when playing games with opengl. Should I be using special framelimiter?
I'm also getting sound stuttering issues in opengl.

I hate to moan when you have done so much good but for me it was working a lot better last week


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests