Page 385 of 702

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:10 pm
by Prfndhatrdofman
Is there a reason why there is never a response to my question about FF7? Not trying to nag, but this is real game breaking stuff.

Why does the Battle animation fail when using OpenGL? Freezes every time there is a battle.

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:05 pm
by Prfndhatrdofman
i900frenchaddict wrote:
Prfndhatrdofman wrote:Is there a reason why there is never a response to my question about FF7? Not trying to nag, but this is real game breaking stuff.

Why does the Battle animation fail when using OpenGL? Freezes every time there is a battle.


Just give me about 1 hour, I'm gonna try on the oneX

EDIT: it freezes for EVERY battle? As I did not have any saved game, I started a new game, and did a few battles without any problem (so after going out of the train, etc, the very beginning)

Just I had to remember to check "off screen drawing" to see my battle controls, that's all.

I was in openGL of course, with a .iso game of CD1

Or did I missunderstand? When you say "Battle animation fails", do you mean the animation at the beginning of every battle? If yes, I can pass through this on the One-X (Android Revolution HD 7.1.0 ROM, so last available base + stock kernel)


Strange. Do you have frameskip on? i typically don't use frameskip because its really not needed for this game, and when its on even with framelimiter the animation isn't smooth. When i turn off frameskip the second the battle animation starts, the video freezes and the audio stutters for about 20 seconds, then finally the battle starts. If i have frameskip on with no frame limiter, it skips right past the broken battle animation, and straight into battle it goes. But its too fast to play at that point. What settings are you using? Also, I have the Evita One X (XL) not the Tegra Endeavor One X.

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:07 pm
by schtruck
Just release FPse 0.11.29 and with what all SGII / SG Note and SGIII owners was waiting for longtime!!!

FPse 0.11.29:
- Important Fix (workaround) for Samsung Galaxy SII, SIII and Note , and all other MALI400 devices with OpenGL plugin!
Now you'll have huge speed without any trick and without need to switch to interpreter!
- Attempt to fix the Xperia Play circle button problem

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:48 pm
by Savaal
I too have exactly the same issue on ff7 with opengl and battle start animations. I would love to see a fix for this whenever you get the chance. Awesome job on the software plugin. I love this app! By far the best app ever!

Also, the sound slows way down between scenes, such as right after a battle and before the battle end summary screens where you get the gold and treasure. And when changing areas in a town. Not a game breaker but I wonder if there is a setting to help with that?

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:26 am
by norin
schtruck wrote:Just release FPse 0.11.29 and with what all SGII / SG Note and SGIII owners was waiting for longtime!!!

FPse 0.11.29:
- Important Fix (workaround) for Samsung Galaxy SII, SIII and Note , and all other MALI400 devices with OpenGL plugin!
Now you'll have huge speed without any trick and without need to switch to interpreter!
- Attempt to fix the Xperia Play circle button problem


Great job, and big THX, but still this f...ing slowdowns in Vagrant Story. Have you any idea what's wrong?

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:13 am
by mirek190
Hi struck

This is what I was able to observe on my SGS II - with kernel sayah ( you can change settings for gpu and cpu on it).

Lett's begin :

As you know GTA III ( for smartphone ) is very heavy game - especially with quality mod.
I was curious how game working with lower GPU mhz ( normally SGS II have 266 Mhz )
So I was runing the game with 40 Mhz GPU and game had around 15 - 18 FPS !!!
With 133 Mhz Mali-400 the GTA 3 has full speed.

After GTA 3 i run FPSE :

Tekken 3 - fpse 11.29 - the newest - gpu on ( texture filtering , etc )

Change GPU mhz :

SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 266 Mhz - game has 29 Fps
SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 29 Fps
SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 400 Mhz - game has 29 Fps

But when I change CPU mhz :

SGS II CPU 1400 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 34 Fps
SGS II CPU 1600 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 37 Fps

As like you see the Gpu doing nothing at all.
Al work is on CPU.
Could you explain me why ?

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:41 am
by crualfoxhound
To all mali400 device users.

We found a bug with galaxy s2
Which won't except new opengl plugin.
Resulting in a none bootable games.

The plugin was using galaxy s3 resolution
And worked for galaxy note.

In a few hour a new plugin be available for downloading.
With s2-gnote and s3 compatibility.

So it ain't a market fpse update.
Just the install plugin prompted when selecting opengl.

Soon as its available I post again to inform you all.

Catch ya later

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:49 am
by crualfoxhound
mirek190 wrote:Hi struck

This is what I was able to observe on my SGS II - with kernel sayah ( you can change settings for gpu and cpu on it).

Lett's begin :

As you know GTA III ( for smartphone ) is very heavy game - especially with quality mod.
I was curious how game working with lower GPU mhz ( normally SGS II have 266 Mhz )
So I was runing the game with 40 Mhz GPU and game had around 15 - 18 FPS !!!
With 133 Mhz Mali-400 the GTA 3 has full speed.

After GTA 3 i run FPSE :

Tekken 3 - fpse 11.29 - the newest - gpu on ( texture filtering , etc )

Change GPU mhz :

SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 266 Mhz - game has 29 Fps
SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 29 Fps
SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 400 Mhz - game has 29 Fps

But when I change CPU mhz :

SGS II CPU 1400 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 34 Fps
SGS II CPU 1600 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 37 Fps

As like you see the Gpu doing nothing at all.
Al work is on CPU.
Could you explain me why ?


Easy answer
CPU is the horse power behind emulation.
The higher the CPU ghz frequency the greater results.

So overclocking CPU will give better results and if overclocking
Try all selections eg ondenand.

Catch ya later

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:36 am
by crualfoxhound
Hi all.

New plugin is available for download.
This fixes galaxy s2 opengl bug.

Just run fpse
In software mode select opengl mode and download
Plugin

Happy playing.

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:57 am
by crualfoxhound
i900frenchaddict

When u talk of gpu and opengl there are to seperate thing.
Gpu is hardware on Device
Opengl is plugin software based.

So my guess is opengl will not increase performance.
Can even decrease performance on older gpu chipsets

Emulators is a combination of CPU and ram the more you have of both the better the outcome

Hope that helps