Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Prfndhatrdofman
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:54 am
Primary Device: HTC One (M7
Operating System: Android 4.2.2
ROM: AOKP
Location: Washington
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Prfndhatrdofman » Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:00 pm

Caanon wrote:Man Shtruck, you're doin' some mighty fine work here. The new menus look great!

Just chiming in to say that fpsece still has some issues with ICS/Galaxy Nexus (can't tell which one is the cause). No amount of setting changes make it as smooth as my old Evo 4G. The OpenES plugin looks spectacular, but it plummets the framerate down to about 20 fps, regardless of orientation. You said it worked well on SGX540 chipsets, so I'm betting it's just some teething problems with ICS. Also, the dual core boost does actually lower performance of the emulator, though you said earlier that ICS is the culprit there so it sounds like you're well aware of it.

On a side note: framelimiter fix works flawlessly! I'm getting rock solid 60fps in software mode on FFVII. Even the sound works perfectly now too! Don't know if you touched it or not, but it's perfect now.

Great work so far! Definitely keeping a close eye on its development


I'm running ICS on my Sensation and Dualcore definitely doesn't work. If its disabled though the emulator runs fantastic. For your poor performance, I'm wondering if its something with the hardware on the galaxy nexus.

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:44 pm

i finally understood why some people encounter crash with new version.

It 's because a mistake on my side with new PAD which has only 5 bitmap, while older had 6 bitmap, and people need to know that external pad must have .raw files instead of .bmp files, and actually Fpse find the .png for the image5 of old skin but not Raw which is mask.... that cause a crash...at init or when touching screen;

i'm curently commiting my change with a tester and then will update to 0.11.7.

Prfndhatrdofman
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:54 am
Primary Device: HTC One (M7
Operating System: Android 4.2.2
ROM: AOKP
Location: Washington
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Prfndhatrdofman » Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:53 pm

Nice find Shtruck. Just curious but how does one become a tester for you? I've done software testing professionally for a while and can author a mean bug report. Would be glad to help if help is ever needed.

doldrums
Fresh Fish
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Primary Device: asus transformer
Operating System: android
ROM: revolver

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby doldrums » Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:54 pm

@ Ti3noU I figured out if you use bypass ime in sixaxis settings, you can map the keys in fpse.

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:11 pm

ok updated to 0.11.7 with Fixed of OverlayS pad bugs that caused crashes.

i have updated openGL plugin with minor tunning , previous version was badly configured and there had somes freeze because The software Texture Garbage collector of this plugin had a too big value.

About External skins.

you need this tool:

http://perso.numericable.fr/schtruck/BMP2RAW.zip

just drag and drop bmp files onto this program, it will convert them to .bmp.raw, just rename them to .raw

Fpse need png file with raw file and pad.ini

You can choose buttons position by this way by modifying pad.ini

zoopster
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:34 pm
Primary Device: HP Touchpad
Operating System: Android
ROM: Cyanogenmod

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby zoopster » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:40 pm

Hi,

Great release but I'm struggling to use my Wiimote / classic controller. I've got the Wiimote connected via BlueIME and have checked it is working with a few other emulators such as N64oid and PCE.emu. I had the same setup working fine with the older release.

In FPSE I've left the bluetooth gamepads settings alone and simply tried to map the Wiimote controls using the HW key map options. FPSE doesn't appear to be registering the key press. Anybody else been successful with their Wiimote?

Thanks,
John

ramenchef
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:18 am
Primary Device: Galaxy Nexus

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby ramenchef » Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:22 am

zoopster wrote:Hi,

Great release but I'm struggling to use my Wiimote / classic controller. I've got the Wiimote connected via BlueIME and have checked it is working with a few other emulators such as N64oid and PCE.emu. I had the same setup working fine with the older release.

In FPSE I've left the bluetooth gamepads settings alone and simply tried to map the Wiimote controls using the HW key map options. FPSE doesn't appear to be registering the key press. Anybody else been successful with their Wiimote?

Thanks,
John


I'm also having this issue, but with The Sony Sixaxis controller using the SixAxis Controller app. All my other emulators work and the keys are definitely registering in the rest of Android. I've even tried the bypass IME option suggested above, but it doesn't work. I am using a GSM Galaxy Nexus on Android Revolution HD 2.1.2 (4.0.2 ICS) at the moment.

molitar
Enthusiast
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:50 am
Primary Device: Sprint SG3 (Adreno 225)
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: FreeGS3 v0.1.0
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby molitar » Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:46 am

Well working great with Phonejoy using Blue Imez with Chrono Cross.. But one thing the analog controller works but more like digital their is no analog capability unlike ePSXe that supports analog fully. Is Analog support not fully implemented? Be nicer than always having to press the L1 button to run all the time but still quite playable.

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:29 am

OK now i will search what's happen with SixAxis mapping.

YOu said it worked well in 0.11 but not in 0.11.1 and up?

ramenchef
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:18 am
Primary Device: Galaxy Nexus

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby ramenchef » Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:36 am

Honestly I couldn't say. I only recently just bought a SixAxis controller and this was the first time I've tested it with FPSe. Everywhere I read on how to set it up for FPSe, they say to just bind it using hardware key mappings, but FPSe just flat out refuses to accept any button presses.


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests