Fpse for Android News

Prfndhatrdofman
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:54 am
Primary Device: HTC One (M7
Operating System: Android 4.2.2
ROM: AOKP
Location: Washington
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Prfndhatrdofman » Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:10 pm

Is there a reason why there is never a response to my question about FF7? Not trying to nag, but this is real game breaking stuff.

Why does the Battle animation fail when using OpenGL? Freezes every time there is a battle.

Prfndhatrdofman
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:54 am
Primary Device: HTC One (M7
Operating System: Android 4.2.2
ROM: AOKP
Location: Washington
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Prfndhatrdofman » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:05 pm

i900frenchaddict wrote:
Prfndhatrdofman wrote:Is there a reason why there is never a response to my question about FF7? Not trying to nag, but this is real game breaking stuff.

Why does the Battle animation fail when using OpenGL? Freezes every time there is a battle.


Just give me about 1 hour, I'm gonna try on the oneX

EDIT: it freezes for EVERY battle? As I did not have any saved game, I started a new game, and did a few battles without any problem (so after going out of the train, etc, the very beginning)

Just I had to remember to check "off screen drawing" to see my battle controls, that's all.

I was in openGL of course, with a .iso game of CD1

Or did I missunderstand? When you say "Battle animation fails", do you mean the animation at the beginning of every battle? If yes, I can pass through this on the One-X (Android Revolution HD 7.1.0 ROM, so last available base + stock kernel)


Strange. Do you have frameskip on? i typically don't use frameskip because its really not needed for this game, and when its on even with framelimiter the animation isn't smooth. When i turn off frameskip the second the battle animation starts, the video freezes and the audio stutters for about 20 seconds, then finally the battle starts. If i have frameskip on with no frame limiter, it skips right past the broken battle animation, and straight into battle it goes. But its too fast to play at that point. What settings are you using? Also, I have the Evita One X (XL) not the Tegra Endeavor One X.

User avatar
schtruck
Site Admin
Posts: 2036
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:52 am
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: WM 6.5.1 21869
ROM: 1.66
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby schtruck » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:07 pm

Just release FPse 0.11.29 and with what all SGII / SG Note and SGIII owners was waiting for longtime!!!

FPse 0.11.29:
- Important Fix (workaround) for Samsung Galaxy SII, SIII and Note , and all other MALI400 devices with OpenGL plugin!
Now you'll have huge speed without any trick and without need to switch to interpreter!
- Attempt to fix the Xperia Play circle button problem

Savaal
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:27 am
Primary Device: Galaxy S II Skyrocket
Operating System: Android
ROM: 4.03 Cooked ICS

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby Savaal » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:48 pm

I too have exactly the same issue on ff7 with opengl and battle start animations. I would love to see a fix for this whenever you get the chance. Awesome job on the software plugin. I love this app! By far the best app ever!

Also, the sound slows way down between scenes, such as right after a battle and before the battle end summary screens where you get the gold and treasure. And when changing areas in a town. Not a game breaker but I wonder if there is a setting to help with that?

norin
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:23 pm
Primary Device: Padfone
Operating System: Android 4.0.4
ROM: stock + root
Location: Poland

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby norin » Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:26 am

schtruck wrote:Just release FPse 0.11.29 and with what all SGII / SG Note and SGIII owners was waiting for longtime!!!

FPse 0.11.29:
- Important Fix (workaround) for Samsung Galaxy SII, SIII and Note , and all other MALI400 devices with OpenGL plugin!
Now you'll have huge speed without any trick and without need to switch to interpreter!
- Attempt to fix the Xperia Play circle button problem


Great job, and big THX, but still this f...ing slowdowns in Vagrant Story. Have you any idea what's wrong?

mirek190
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:55 am
Primary Device: I9000 and I9100
ROM: 2.3.4

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby mirek190 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:13 am

Hi struck

This is what I was able to observe on my SGS II - with kernel sayah ( you can change settings for gpu and cpu on it).

Lett's begin :

As you know GTA III ( for smartphone ) is very heavy game - especially with quality mod.
I was curious how game working with lower GPU mhz ( normally SGS II have 266 Mhz )
So I was runing the game with 40 Mhz GPU and game had around 15 - 18 FPS !!!
With 133 Mhz Mali-400 the GTA 3 has full speed.

After GTA 3 i run FPSE :

Tekken 3 - fpse 11.29 - the newest - gpu on ( texture filtering , etc )

Change GPU mhz :

SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 266 Mhz - game has 29 Fps
SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 29 Fps
SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 400 Mhz - game has 29 Fps

But when I change CPU mhz :

SGS II CPU 1400 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 34 Fps
SGS II CPU 1600 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 37 Fps

As like you see the Gpu doing nothing at all.
Al work is on CPU.
Could you explain me why ?

User avatar
crualfoxhound
Addict
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 3:19 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy S7
Operating System: Android 7.0
ROM: Galaxy S7 SM-G930F

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby crualfoxhound » Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:41 am

To all mali400 device users.

We found a bug with galaxy s2
Which won't except new opengl plugin.
Resulting in a none bootable games.

The plugin was using galaxy s3 resolution
And worked for galaxy note.

In a few hour a new plugin be available for downloading.
With s2-gnote and s3 compatibility.

So it ain't a market fpse update.
Just the install plugin prompted when selecting opengl.

Soon as its available I post again to inform you all.

Catch ya later
Galaxy S7

User avatar
crualfoxhound
Addict
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 3:19 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy S7
Operating System: Android 7.0
ROM: Galaxy S7 SM-G930F

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby crualfoxhound » Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:49 am

mirek190 wrote:Hi struck

This is what I was able to observe on my SGS II - with kernel sayah ( you can change settings for gpu and cpu on it).

Lett's begin :

As you know GTA III ( for smartphone ) is very heavy game - especially with quality mod.
I was curious how game working with lower GPU mhz ( normally SGS II have 266 Mhz )
So I was runing the game with 40 Mhz GPU and game had around 15 - 18 FPS !!!
With 133 Mhz Mali-400 the GTA 3 has full speed.

After GTA 3 i run FPSE :

Tekken 3 - fpse 11.29 - the newest - gpu on ( texture filtering , etc )

Change GPU mhz :

SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 266 Mhz - game has 29 Fps
SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 29 Fps
SGS II CPU 1200 Mhz - GPU 400 Mhz - game has 29 Fps

But when I change CPU mhz :

SGS II CPU 1400 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 34 Fps
SGS II CPU 1600 Mhz - GPU 40 Mhz - game has 37 Fps

As like you see the Gpu doing nothing at all.
Al work is on CPU.
Could you explain me why ?


Easy answer
CPU is the horse power behind emulation.
The higher the CPU ghz frequency the greater results.

So overclocking CPU will give better results and if overclocking
Try all selections eg ondenand.

Catch ya later
Galaxy S7

User avatar
crualfoxhound
Addict
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 3:19 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy S7
Operating System: Android 7.0
ROM: Galaxy S7 SM-G930F

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby crualfoxhound » Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:36 am

Hi all.

New plugin is available for download.
This fixes galaxy s2 opengl bug.

Just run fpse
In software mode select opengl mode and download
Plugin

Happy playing.
Galaxy S7

User avatar
crualfoxhound
Addict
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 3:19 pm
Primary Device: Galaxy S7
Operating System: Android 7.0
ROM: Galaxy S7 SM-G930F

Re: Fpse for Android Discussion/Feedback

Postby crualfoxhound » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:57 am

i900frenchaddict

When u talk of gpu and opengl there are to seperate thing.
Gpu is hardware on Device
Opengl is plugin software based.

So my guess is opengl will not increase performance.
Can even decrease performance on older gpu chipsets

Emulators is a combination of CPU and ram the more you have of both the better the outcome

Hope that helps
Galaxy S7


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests