Grandia

If you have a problem with a particular game, post it in here.
leadbelly
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:26 am

Grandia

Postby leadbelly » Sun Dec 27, 2009 6:18 pm

the music and sound effects are fine, but the voice acting keeps repeating itself.

for example, the start of the game has a king sitting on his thrown. he keeps repeating the first sentence of dialogue.

it goes like this.

"ummm, i guess i... "

"ummm, i guess i..."

"ummm, i guess i..."

another guy speaks...

"it's only been an half hour since you asked last"

"it's only been an half hour since you asked last"

"it's only been an half hour since you asked last"

it's so annoying. does anyone else have this problem with this game?

i want to find out if it's a problem with the iso or if it's an issue the emu has with the game.

and if others have had this issue, is there a fix for this?

User avatar
CloudStrife86
Global Moderator
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:07 am
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 (i9505)
Operating System: Android
ROM: Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
Location: Durham, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Grandia: repeating audio

Postby CloudStrife86 » Sun Dec 27, 2009 7:15 pm

leadbelly wrote:does anyone else have this problem with this game?

No, but I haven't tried it. I'm only posting here to offer some consolation... At least it's not Resident Evil's audio looping. That's enough to give Vincent Price nightmares! :?
Image
Platinum trophies: Uncharted, MW2, Uncharted 2, Resi 5, AC II, Fallout 3, Batman: AA, CoD: WaW, BlOps, FFXIII, BioShock, L.A. Noire, Deus Ex: HR, Uncharted 3, Heavy Rain, Batman: AC, inFAMOUS 2, The Walking Dead, Virtue's Last Reward, Borderlands

Kennayz
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:36 am

Re: Grandia: repeating audio

Postby Kennayz » Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:37 am

Yep, having the exact same thing on my HTC HD2, kinda have to play with sound off to not get annoyed to death

leadbelly
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:26 am

Re: Grandia: repeating audio

Postby leadbelly » Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:07 pm

CloudStrife86 wrote:
leadbelly wrote:does anyone else have this problem with this game?

No, but I haven't tried it. I'm only posting here to offer some consolation... At least it's not Resident Evil's audio looping. That's enough to give Vincent Price nightmares! :?


yeah, i'm sure that would be annoying too...


Kennayz wrote:Yep, having the exact same thing on my HTC HD2, kinda have to play with sound off to not get annoyed to death


ah... okay. it sounds like something i can't sort out then. :(

User avatar
i900frenchaddict
Global Moderator
Posts: 2114
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:47 am
Primary Device: Galaxy Note 2/ HTCs
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Grandia: repeating audio

Postby i900frenchaddict » Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:01 pm

I had this problem in Summer Olympics ("one hundred meter....one hundred meter....one hundred meter....one hundred meter....one hundred meter....one hundred meter....one hundred meter....etc")

if removing the 0 in front of LastSPU=0peopspu109.dll in the fpse.ini changes nothing, I fear it's impossible to fix now.

leadbelly
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:26 am

Re: Grandia: repeating audio

Postby leadbelly » Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:12 pm

ah, yes, that worked, but with the cost of making the sound in the fmv intro really, really choppy.

i can live with that though as it's fine in-game.

thank you. :)

Kennayz
Fresh Fish
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:36 am

Re: Grandia: repeating audio

Postby Kennayz » Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:18 pm

Heh, you weren't kidding when you said choppy, were you..

But yay, the voicing isn't looping anymore! Thanks a lot, i900frenchaddict!
Now I can play my favourite game of all time on my friggin phone. My life is complete. I can die now. (after I beat Grandia again) :D

But also, isn't there a way to skip cutscenes, in any game?

DarkBahamut
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:51 pm
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: 6.5

Grandia

Postby DarkBahamut » Mon Mar 29, 2010 8:02 pm

I'm looking for a bit of help with some audio problems in Grandia. Done a search but can't seem to find anything related to this.

I have an issue with repeating audio. It's not the voice acting issue as i've done the 'fix' of removing the 0 in fpse.ini and thats works fine expect for the choppy video audio. However, other people have reported that the audio in game is fine after this, but i have repeating battle sound effects. It will tend to be something like the sound effect of killing an enemy will keep repeating over and over till another sound effect over-writes it (ie. you hit another enemy or the battle ends), but i have seen it keep repeating for minutes sometimes.

I also feel that the sound effect audio is slightly laggy after removing the 0 from the .ini. I could be making it up but it does feel that some sounds effects are maybe half a second later than they ought to be.

I've tried changing a few other settings but had no success thus far. Anyone else encounted issues with this and maybe have a fix?


EDIT: Forgot to mention. This is with v0.10 and the supporter updates installed.

User avatar
mastanobu
Guru
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:14 am
Primary Device: Touch Pro 2 (Tilt 2)
Operating System: build 21887 6.5
ROM: Josh's PerfectBlack 1.7-FINAL
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Grandia

Postby mastanobu » Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:37 am

Find me at http://www.totalgamerz.com - Ryo
XDA - ryotgz

DarkBahamut
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:51 pm
Primary Device: HTC HD2
Operating System: 6.5

Re: Grandia

Postby DarkBahamut » Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:11 pm

Assuming you mean the thread this got merged into since the link doesn't work then yes, but it's actually a different issue which gives similar results. The other thread deals with sound repeating in videos which is fixed by editing the .ini file, but it doesn't help/causes sound repeating in battles for me, plus somewhat delayed audio.

That said, in other games i've tried the sound emulation seems far (very far) from perfect at the moment so i suspect it's just down to the sound drivers not being the greatest at the moment. Hopefully this will go away if/when that gets an update.


Return to “Game-Specific Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests