Final Fantasy VIII

If you have a problem with a particular game, post it in here.
Treize
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:25 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 (SGH-i727R)
Operating System: Android 4.04 (ICS)
ROM: Cyanogenmod 9

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Treize » Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:52 pm

Howdy,

Kudos to the dev for the work put into this emulator.

I'm trying to play this on my Samsung Galaxy S2 (SGH-i727R) which has the Adreno 220. My current settings are:

Spusync
Framskip
Print FPS
Original Screen Size
OffScreenDrawing
Special Frame Limiter
OpenGl downloaded from internet

My only 2 issues so far are the slow battle phases, and the following:

totriet wrote:hi! When I put the original size, Instead of having two black stripes on the sides, I have two bug stripes. Something know how I can solve it?

Image


It seems that everyone has the slow battle phase issue with opengl, but can someone tell me which settings i need to make the edges of the screen black? Is this a game specific thing (I don't currently have other games to try) or a phone thing (I know Adreno 220 has some opengl issues)?

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 600
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby bluezeak » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:45 am

Are you using the latest version of FPSE? I'm pretty sure there were fixes for that. Also are you using the latest version off OpenGL? Use the one that you can download from inside FPSE. If so, maybe is an issue specific to your ROM?

There's a thread about the 220 and 225 check that thread. The 220 needs ics and/or ICS.
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

totriet
Fresh Fish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:39 am
Primary Device: HTC Desire Z
ROM: Cyanogenmod 7 Nightly

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby totriet » Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:37 am

I use the latest version and I download the open gl plugin with the option inclued in Fpse

Treize
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:25 pm
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 (SGH-i727R)
Operating System: Android 4.04 (ICS)
ROM: Cyanogenmod 9

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Treize » Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:52 am

bluezeak wrote:Are you using the latest version of FPSE? I'm pretty sure there were fixes for that. Also are you using the latest version off OpenGL? Use the one that you can download from inside FPSE. If so, maybe is an issue specific to your ROM?

There's a thread about the 220 and 225 check that thread. The 220 needs ics and/or ICS.


Thanks for the reply. I am on ics and using the latest fpse and open gl plugin. I played around with the settings and found when turning 32 bit rendering on it fixed the edges of the screen. The phasing into battles still takes very long.

Eambo
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:18 am
Primary Device: HTC One-X
Operating System: Android (ICS)
ROM: Viper ROM

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Eambo » Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:21 am

Hi Everyone,

I'm trying to get FFVIII to work, but no luck for me! I can load the game, but there is no audio during FMV's. I've read numerous reports of turning on SPUSync working for people, but alas not me.

I'm running a HTC One X with ICS - can anyone advise what I may be doing wrong? Thank you! :-)

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 600
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby bluezeak » Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:57 am

Treize wrote:
Thanks for the reply. I am on ics and using the latest fpse and open gl plugin. I played around with the settings and found when turning 32 bit rendering on it fixed the edges of the screen. The phasing into battles still takes very long.

That's great to know, I'll include it in my opwnl spreadsheet.

Eambo - do you get audio in other games? Are you using OpenGL or softgpu? If softgpu do you have frame skip?
FPSE OpenGL info - click here

Eambo
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:18 am
Primary Device: HTC One-X
Operating System: Android (ICS)
ROM: Viper ROM

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Eambo » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:01 am

Thanks bluezeak for your response!

Tony Hawks Pro Skater has audio (albeit laggy), and FFVIII has audio everywhere EXCEPT FMV's.

I've tried with both OpenGL and Softgpu, and with a multitude of settings - although if you've got any specific recommendations I'd be happy to try!

Nivram
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:41 am
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 i9300
Operating System: Android 4.0.4

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby Nivram » Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:48 am

Hello,

I tried to run FF8 on my Samsung Galaxy S3. I downloaded Final Fantasy 8 and tried to play it.
The problem is, the emulator doesn't comes further than the Playstation Logo at the start. This comes around on several FF Roms.

I'm using the FPse 0.11.28.
What should I do? Did I fail at the settings?
I'm a total Noob at this :(


I'm very thankful for any Help!
Greetings :]

khempfer
Fresh Fish
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:05 am
Primary Device: GT-N7000
Operating System: android 2.3.6
ROM: ff8

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby khempfer » Thu Jul 19, 2012 7:44 am

Hey,

Trying to get cheats to work on galaxy note 2.3.6. I'm a noob at this so it may not even be an issue.

Found some codes for Squall to have 9999 hit points but can't get them to work. Not sure if I have to use them before I start the game.

Entered the codes, applied them. Load the game, applied them again.

Anyone have any ideas on what I may be doing wrong?

User avatar
bluezeak
Guru
Posts: 600
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock

Re: Final Fantasy VIII

Postby bluezeak » Thu Jul 19, 2012 7:44 pm

Nivram
that sounds like the exact symptom of a bad ROM. If you're having the issue with multiple rooms you can try reinstalling FPSE. If you have any save games our save states be sure to back then up first (menu misc backup, saves to /sdcard/FPSebackup)

Khempfer
I don't have any exp with cheats, sorry.
FPSE OpenGL info - click here


Return to “Game-Specific Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest