View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 2:03 am




Reply to topic  [ 227 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 23  Next
 Final Fantasy VII 
Author Message
Fresh Fish

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 11:46 am
Posts: 1
Primary Device: Galaxy Note
Operating System: android
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
Hi guys.

I am using the Samsung Galaxy Note.

Game works great BUt, crashes when i use Tifas Limit break ? any ideas on a fix or setting i need to use to stopthis happening ?
thx
James


Fri Jul 20, 2012 11:47 am
Profile
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:04 am
Posts: 713
Primary Device: motorola bionic
Operating System: Android 2.3.4
ROM: stock
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
Are you using OpenGL or softGPU? Try using the other. Are you using the system option boost mode -turn it off. That's chalk I can think of...

_________________
FPSE OpenGL info - click here


Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:45 pm
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 7:23 pm
Posts: 2
Primary Device: Nexus 7
Operating System: Android 4.1
ROM: stock
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
I'm having trouble with saving to the memory card. I can use savestates, but whenever I go into the save menu, the game crashes. The menu for selecting a slot shows up, but both cards are grayed out. Music keeps playing, but all of the buttons do nothing.
I've tried loading different memory cards and saving to them, but it still crashes. Is there anything I can do? I won't be able to beat the game without memcard saves since this is a multidisc game.


Sun Jul 22, 2012 7:54 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:22 am
Posts: 5
Primary Device: gnex/n7
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
Is there anything else that can be done to make the sound more "accurate" sounding on my n7? I mean it plays and everything, but its just idk, not right as i remember it. Certain notes are short when they should be long, etc.


Sun Jul 22, 2012 8:28 pm
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 7:23 pm
Posts: 2
Primary Device: Nexus 7
Operating System: Android 4.1
ROM: stock
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
digitsix wrote:
Is there anything else that can be done to make the sound more "accurate" sounding on my n7? I mean it plays and everything, but its just idk, not right as i remember it. Certain notes are short when they should be long, etc.


Have you checked Spusync in the audio options? That fixed most of my sound issues on my n7. After you check it, you'll have to reset fpse through the menu.


Sun Jul 22, 2012 8:53 pm
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:22 am
Posts: 5
Primary Device: gnex/n7
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
Biofilm wrote:
digitsix wrote:
Is there anything else that can be done to make the sound more "accurate" sounding on my n7? I mean it plays and everything, but its just idk, not right as i remember it. Certain notes are short when they should be long, etc.


Have you checked Spusync in the audio options? That fixed most of my sound issues on my n7. After you check it, you'll have to reset fpse through the menu.



yeah i have all the "recommended" settings enabled for this game. And like I said its all working fine, just the audio is not being "emulated" correctly, ie sounds different from the actual game. Its not laggy or choppy or anything, its just off sounding.


Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:17 pm
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:32 am
Posts: 2
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy S i9000
Operating System: Android 2.3.6
ROM: DMORE
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
bluezeak wrote:
I don't know if you can convert you save states. I suspect not. Google it. You can definitely use save game files (memory card files) from fpse in epsxe. I haven't played ff VII far enough to give advice. Have you searched through the forum here, or outside of fpse for fixes for simialar issues in other emus? If you do find something let us know!

I think the main workaround is to get your game saved to a memory card, copy the memory card to the computer, play through it on the computer, save, then copy the memory card back. To copy your memory card go to the misc menu, and choose 'backup'. It will be saved to /sdcard/fpsebackup. plug your phone into your computer and copy the memory card files over. when done, copy them back wherever you want. Then in fpse go to misc, memory card, and brose to where you saved them.


Thanks for your reply.

I tried everything I could think of, without any luck, including:

- backed up the app and reinstalled it and then tried the savestates by copying them over individually (via root access)
- tried many online utilities to try and read the savestates on PC
- tried to delete the memory card files in case they were somehow corrupt

Unfortunately nothing worked. I believe that FPSE did not load properly on an occassion when I played and it caused my save states to become corrupted. I noticed that I could play the game, but FMV videos would not play properly (e.g. grey screen when climing the lift in Junon harbour or Gold Saucer etc). One example of a bad load I've seen is where FPSE asks to select an ISO. I select it, and then the same menu pops up again. I select again, but I notice that the "HLE enabled" notice pops up and there are no save states listed. Quitting the app and reloading often fixes this. But FPSE still has some bugs in that area

My 'solution' was to load my game from my most recent memory card save and play through the 4-5 hrs of game time again. I'm now going to try and exclusively save via in-game save points if possible to reduce chances of this glitch occurring again.

@digitsix: I agree, the sound in FF7 is not 100% perfect. This is quite noticable when scrolling through a list of items or materia - the sound is weird and not uniform. It's not bad sound, but the notes are definitiely clipped in places.

@Biofilm: I had the same problem (see my posts). I'm sorry to say, but it sounds like your save states might have been corrupted by FPSE. I suspect that this happens when the disc ISO is not loaded correctly by the app, or is not being accessed correctly by the app. As mentioned above, the only solution I could come up with was to load my game from my most recent Memory Card save in the game and play through the 4-5 hrs of game time which I had played without saving to the Memory Card in-game.

I strongly recommend using the in-game save points and Memory Cards instead of save states if possible to avoid this problem.


Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:19 am
Profile
Fresh Fish

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:56 am
Posts: 1
Primary Device: GT-I9300
Operating System: Android
ROM: Omega v9.x
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
So i spent 4 hours trying to get the game to run with open GL settings through fpse... No dice.
So I switched back to software gpu
I downloaded Chainfire 3d pro and all the plugins.
Configured FPSE in the per app options only thing i did was enable the Qualcom plugin. I launched FPSE from inside chainfire and voila! I now have a fully working FFVII with cutscenes running at 60fps(minor slow down with transition to battles) with frame limiter on and close to 500fps with it off(300fps in battles).
Also something to note: I had massive slow down with Tifa and her limit (6fps) It only lasted a couple of battles though and seems to have fixed itself.
Hope this helps someone...


Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:07 am
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:54 am
Posts: 26
Location: Washington
Primary Device: HTC One (M7
Operating System: Android 4.2.2
ROM: AOKP
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
bluezeak wrote:
I'm sorry for quiting such a long post but the settings they're talking about are important for my OpenGL documentation project.

Please see my signature link!! Be sure to look at the goole docs spreadsheet. Some of the special fixes ate for ff7.

I'm going to test ff7 in the near future and post my findings. In my experience 32bits can break things and very rarely does it make a difference in the gfx, so I usually have it off. I've not seen antialiasing do much but maybe my system can't handle it. I'd rather have the game run faster without it usually. The lines around boxes is the alpha multi pass, nd I'm pretty sure ff7 needs it. Some of the special fixes are for the battle swirl. (frame buffer access, upload detection)


I've tried frame buffer access and upload detection, and the battle swirl still fails. There is something bigger going on with the opengl plug in for ff7. something the FPSE version is missing.


Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:43 pm
Profile WWW
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:01 pm
Posts: 14
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy SII
Operating System: Windows 7
ROM: ICS stock
Post Re: Final Fantasy VII
Hello all.
By advance, sorry for my bad english.. Here is my problem :

On my Samsung Galaxy SII, i want to run FF7 in Opengl mode( peops plugin, download auto from fpse in misc switch mode ).
I'm able to pass the first cinematic, but when Clad leaves the train, just at the first battle vs the 2 red soldiers, the sound begin corrupted at the battle swirm, and fpse crashes 10 seconds later, and restart. I tried few graphic parameters in the opengl config video, but no way..

Someone here knows running ff7 in opengl mode ? Cause the difference between normal mode, I think it's great trying it in opengl..


Wed Aug 01, 2012 4:29 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 227 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 23  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.